Timchal Selected to 2017 IWLCA Hall of Fame Class

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Former Maryland women’s lacrosse head coach Cindy Timchal, who led the Terps to eight NCAA Championships, was selected to the inaugural Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association Hall of Fame class Tuesday.

Maryland’s coach from 1991-2006, Timchal reinvigorated the Terps’ lacrosse program and was recognized as the 1999 National Coach of the Year and was a four-time ACC Coach of the Year. She led Maryland to eight national titles, including seven straight from 1995-2001. At Maryland, Timchal earned a 260-46 record.

Prior to coming to College Park, Timchal spent nine years coaching at Northwestern. After leaving Maryland, she became the first Division I coach at Navy and led the Midshipmen to the Final Four in 2017.

Timchal is the only coach to take three separate programs to the NCAA Tournament. She is second in career wins all-time and her career record stands at 491-129.

Timchal was inducted in the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame and the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame.

The inaugural class will be formally enshrined on Thursday, November 16, during the IWLCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony during the IWLCA Annual Meetings at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. The class also includes Missy Foote, Tina Sloan Greene, Carole Kleinfelder, Sharon Pfluger and Marge Wilson.