Taylor Added to Tewaaraton Watch List

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

WASHINGTON – Sophomore goalie Megan Taylor was added to the Tewaaraton Watch List Thursday as one of the early contenders for lacrosse’s top award.

Already a four-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week this season, Taylor ranks fourth nationally with a .573 save percentage and 10th in the nation with an 8.20 goals against average. She broke out for an 18-save performance against then-No. 4 Syracuse last Saturday.

Senior midfielder Zoe Stukenberg, senior defender Nadine Hadnagy and junior attacker Megan Whittle were named to the initial 50-player Tewaaraton Watch List on Feb. 28.

Maryland has won six of the last seven Tewaaraton Awards. Caitlyn Phipps captured the honor in 2010, while Katie Schwarzmann became the Terrapins’ first two-time winner in 2012 and 2013. Taylor Cummings became the first-ever three-time winner from 2014-16. Jen Adams won the inaugural Tewaaraton in 2001.

Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. The next round of watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on April 6. On April 27, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. 

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 11 and invited to the ceremony. The 17th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on June 1.