Confroy, Leto Named B1G Outstanding Sportsmanship Honorees

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Seniors Kristen Confroy of the Maryland women's basketball team and Alex Leto of the Maryland track and field program were named the Terrapins' Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners in a release made by the conference offices this afternoon. The Big Ten recognized one male and one female student-athlete from all 14 member institutions for demonstrating outstanding sportsmanship and competitive spirit.  

Big Ten Release

This is the second straight year that Leto has been given this honor, while Confroy was named by the Big Ten after winning the James H. Kehoe Award at the 2018 Terp Awards, given to the female student-athlete who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship. 

A native of Solon, Ohio and this year's SAAC President, Confroy graduated with a degree in biology and a concentration in neurobiology and physiology last month. She will attend the Wake Forest School of Medicine in the fall.  Confroy earned Academic All-Big Ten honors every season and was named a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar. She earned CoSIDA Academic All-District II honors twice and was named this year's James H. Kehoe Award female recipient.

Leto is a native of Old Bridge, N.J. who graduated in May with a degree in kinesiology. A two-time academic all-conference honoree, Leto has been named to the Deans List twice and has been on the Athlete Honor Roll every semester since enrolling at Maryland. This is the second time that Leto has been named the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship winner and has won both the Terp Award for Community Service and the James H. Kehoe Award, given to the male student athlete who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship. 

The conference also honored each individual sports Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree. Maryland's honorees are as follows: Brittany Lang (cross country), Chandler Burkett (football), Andrew Samuels (men's soccer), Rachel Egyed (women's soccer), Marissa Cutry (field hockey), Liz Twilley (volleyball), Deanna Magro (gymnastics), Michal Cekovsky (men's basketball), Kristen Confroy (women's basketball), Sam Shoultz (men's indoor track and field), Jewel Smith (women's indoor track and field), Millie Stretton (women's tennis), Timothy Colanta (men's golf), Laura Van Respaille (women's golf), Sami Main (softball), Adam DiMillo (men's lacrosse), Alex McKay (women's lacrosse), Brendan Burnham (wrestling), Billy Phillips (baseball).