Track and Field Takes Home Hardware at Terp Awards

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - On Monday evening, the Terrapin Athletic family welcomed student-athletes, coaches, and faculty members to celebrate accomplishments on and off the track.  The annual Terp Awards featured academic, athletic, and community service recognition.

The men's track and field program was recognized for achieving the highest GPA of all athletic teams.  This academic recognition was a well deserved honor for the male student athletes who collectively recorded the highest grade point average as a team.

Head track and field coach, Andrew Valmon commented on the team's accomplishment stating, "I am proud of our men for representing our program well in the classroom.  The degree they earn from this institution will take them further in life than any accolade on the track.  What they learn each and everyday is essential to their growth and will propel them forward to a successful future."

In addition to this award, senior Alex Leto was also recognized as the 2018 male recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor.  This award demonstrates a commitment to both athletics and academics and is only awarded to one male and one female student-athlete from each Big Ten institution.  Leto was also presented with the Maryland Watch for exhibiting pride and extraordinary leadership throughout his career.

Senior thrower, Emma O'Hara received the Charles H. Beebe award as the female student-athlete with the highest grade point average among all sports.

Community service awards were presented to AJ Ruffin and Maria Castellanos for their commitment to helping others.

Jai'lyn Merriweather was nominated for the rookie of the year award for her accomplishments in the indoor 400m and as a member of the all-freshmen 4x400m relay squad.

In addition to the Terp Awards, the team celebrated their season accomplishments at the annual banquet on Saturday evening.  Up next, the Terps will head to post season competition with the Big Ten Championships kicking off on May 11th-13th in Indiana.