Moore Named to Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Maryland junior center Brendan Moore has been named to the Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List for the second consecutive year, it was announced on Tuesday. The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I college football.

Moore started all 13 games at center for the Terps as a sophomore in 2016. He helped pave the way for a Maryland rushing offense that eclipsed 2,500 yards for the first time since 2003.

Moore played an integral role in Ty Johnson becoming the ninth 1,000-yard rusher in Maryland history last season. The Terps finished the 2016 season averaging 199.5 rushing yards per game, ranking fourth in the Big Ten.

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 13, 2018.

About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.9 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $130 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-American center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast 765 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.