Nine Former Terps Earn MLL All-Star Nods

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

BOSTON – The Maryland men's lacrosse program had a nation's best nine former players selected to the 2017 Major League Lacrosse All-Star Game. The game is set for July 8 at Papa Murphy's Park in Sacramento and will be broadcast on CBS Sports Network.

Click here to see the complete 2017 All-Star Game roster.

New York Lizards midfielder Joe Walters ('06) was selected to his ninth career All-Star Game – the most among all selected players this year. Midfielders Jeremy Sieverts ('09) and Drew Snider ('12) of the Denver Outlaws will make their sixth and fourth career appearances, respectively.

Also selected to the All-Star game for the second time in their careers were Chesapeake Bayhawks goalkeeper Brian Phipps ('10) and Charlotte Hounds midfielder Mike Chanenchuk ('14).

Rounding out the selections were four former Terps who earned their first career All-Star nods: Ohio Machine goalkeeper Kyle Bernlohr ('16) and midfielder Jake Bernhardt ('13), Chesapeake Bayhawks defender Jesse Bernhardt ('13) and Rochester Rattlers defender Matt Dunn ('16).

Bernlohr and Jake Bernhardt's Ohio Machine currently sit in first place in the League with a 6-2 record, winning four straight games since Bernlohr has taken over as starting goalkeeper. Snider and Sieverts' Denver Outlaws are just behind with a 5-2 record.