Rambo Named Tewaaraton Finalist

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Maryland men's lacrosse senior attackman Matt Rambo has been named one of five finalists for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The award has been given annually since 2001 to the most outstanding Division I college lacrosse player.

The finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C., for the 17th annual ceremony on June 1.

Rambo is just the second player in Maryland history to be named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award, joining Joe Walters (2006). The Terrapins have never had a winner of the prestigious award, which is the equivalent of college football's Heisman Trophy.

Rambo will be joined at the ceremony by fellow finalists, Trevor Baptiste (Denver), Connor Fields (Albany), Ben Reeves (Yale) and Patrick Spencer (Loyola).

The Glenside, Pa., native has been nothing short of dominant in his senior campaign, totaling 67 points on 34 goals and 33 assists against the nation's top-ranked strength of schedule. The 2017 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, Rambo currently leads the conference in both points/g and assists/g.

“The Tewaaraton Foundation congratulates these 10 finalists that have been chosen by our selection committees from such an amazing pool of talented players this season,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “We look forward to welcoming each of them and their families to Washington, D.C., on June 1, and we look forward to following along throughout the playoffs to see who emerges in this wide-open race.”

Rambo has pieced together one of the most prestigious careers in Maryland's illustrious history, leading the Terrapin senior class to a program record 57 wins and advancing to three NCAA semifinals. He leads Maryland into the NCAA Tournament as the No. 1 overall seed for the second straight season and first time since 1973-74.

Rambo recently became Maryland's all-time points leader, breaking Bob Boneillo's 37-year-old record. He shattered the record in remarkable fashion against Johns Hopkins, as he totaled the six points needed just 18 minutes into the contest. He finished the game matching his career-high with seven points.

The senior is also just seven goals away from becoming Maryland's all-time leader in goals. He is looking to break Joe Walters' record of 153 goals set in 2006.

Rambo is the only player in Maryland history to record 40 goals and 30 assists in a season, accomplishing the feat last year. He is poised to achieve the milestone again in 2017.

Rambo has also compiled one of the best postseason resumes of all-time, entering the 2017 NCAA Tournament as the active leader with 42 points in 11 career games. He totaled 23 points in last season's NCAA Tournament, shattering Andrew Whipple's previous Maryland record of 18 points set in 1998.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. Finalists come from a pool of 25 men's and 25 women's nominees that were announced April 28. The selection committees are comprised of 16 men's and 17 women's current and former college coaches.

The guidelines for finalists and recipient selections are as follows:

·  Finalists will be the best five players chosen without regard to institution.

·  Finalists will be selected based on individual performance and a player's contribution to the success of their team.

·  Finalists are chosen based on the current year's regular-season performance (date of selection is at the conclusion of the regular season, before playoffs).

·  Recipients are chosen based on the current year's regular season and playoff performance.

·  Sportsmanship can play a role in the selection process and it is important that the recipient upholds the mission and values of the Tewaaraton Award.

Under Armour returns as the proud presenting sponsor of The Tewaaraton Award in honoring the top collegiate lacrosse players in the United States.

This year's initial Tewaaraton Watch Lists were announced on Feb. 28 and included the top 50 men's and women's college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced, on March 16 and April 6.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, how to donate to this non-profit or to attend these exciting events, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC, and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

About Under Armour, Inc.

Under Armour (NYSE: UA), the originator of performance footwear, apparel and equipment, revolutionized how athletes across the world dress. Designed to make all athletes better, the brand's innovative products are sold worldwide to athletes at all levels. The Under Armour Connected Fitness™ platform powers the world's largest digital health and fitness community through a suite of applications: UA Record, MapMyFitness, Endomondo and MyFitnessPal. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Md. For further information, please visit the company's website at

– Maryland –