2013 Award Winners Announced at Fall Banquet

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS
COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The Maryland men's lacrosse team and head coach John Tillman welcomed back the 2013 seniors that helped the Terps reach the NCAA tournament for the 11th straight season, on Saturday, October 19, for the annual awards banquet at Sprint Heritage Hall in the Comcast Center on the campus of the University of Maryland.

The highlight of the afternoon's awards was the presentation of the Edwin Powell Team MVP Award, which was given to long-stick midfielder Jesse Bernhardt, who earned first-team All-America honors after leading the team with 25 caused turnovers and finishing second on the squad with 59 groundballs.

The "Big Man" Award, given in honor of former coach Dick Edell. The award was created to honor the player that best exemplified the selfless and positive qualities of the retired coach. The 2013 award was given to attackman/midfielder Kevin Cooper, who led the team in points and assists after making the switch from midfield, where he played his first three seasons to attack prior to the start of the 2013 season.

The Daniel Slafkosky Coach's Award was also given out, in memory of former assistant coach Dave Slafkosky's son, who passed away prior to the 2001 season. Defender Michael Ehrhardt was selected as the member of the Terps who best illustrated Dan's positive attitude on and off the field.

Other awards given out in honor of individual accomplishments throughout the 2013 season were:

Van Trump Award   Decker-Silber Award
Best Overall Attackman   Best Overall Defender
Owen Blye   Niko Amato
William Cole Award   Dan Snyder Award
Best Overall Midfielder   Most Improved Player
John Haus   Casey Ikeda
Levitt Memorial Award   Pete Worstell Award
Best Freshman   Comeback Player of the Year
Matt Dunn   Jake Bernhardt
Faber-Heagy Award   Iron Terp Award
Team's Unsung Hero   Strongest Pound-For-Pound
Landon Carr   Jesse Bernhardt
"Be The Best" Award   "Be The Best" Award
Strength & Conditioning   Strength & Conditioning
Tyler Adelsberger   Joe LoCascio