Seven Terps Make National Academic Squad

March 5, 2013

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Seven members of the Maryland field hockey team were named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association's National Academic Squad, released Tuesday. Maryland was also named an NFHCA National Academic Team.

Danielle Kauffman, Christine Knauss, Janessa Pope, Steffi Schneid, Sarah Sprink, Shelby Sydnor and Harriet Tibble were all honored by the NFHCA. Kauffman and Pope were honored in each of their four year careers. This is the third honor for Knauss and second for Tibble and Sydnor.

The National Academic Squad recognizes those student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2012-13 academic year.

The National Academic Team Award recognizes those institutions that achieved a minimum GPA of 3.0 during the first semester of the 2012-13 academic year. All six ACC schools earned the honor.