Tibble Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Feb. 28, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Senior Harriet Tibble was named the ACC's Scholar Athlete of the Year in field hockey for the second straight year, the league announced Thursday. Tibble is joined on the ACC All-Academic Team by teammates Megan Frazer, Katie Gerzabek, Janessa Pope and Sarah Sprink.

A marketing major, Tibble is the 13th ACC student-athlete across all sports to be named Scholar-Athlete of the Year for consecutive seasons. This is the third time on the All-ACC Academic team for the native of Surrey, England.

"Harriet is simply an exceptional student and a world-class hockey player," head coach Missy Meharg said. "Her quiet and humble nature makes this type of recognition extraordinary. ACC field hockey women are unquestionably some of the nation's most gifted student-athletes."

"Here at Maryland, we really put importance on our academics and at being successful in all areas of life. These five women live that day in and day out and we are thrilled for them."

Tibble was named to the NFHCA All-American Second Team and has been on the All-ACC squad the past three years. She played in the NCAA semifinals all four years of her career, and won two national titles.

Frazer was named to the league's academic honor team for the fourth time in her career. Pope was selected for the third time.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.