Maryland Celebrates 2012-13 At Terp Awards

May 7, 2013

Photo Gallery

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Student-athletes, coaches and teams were honored Tuesday for prowess in academics, community service and athletics at the second annual Terp Awards, co-sponsored by the Terrapin Club and the `M' Club, held at the Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center on campus.

Men's soccer player Patrick Mullins earned John W. Guckeyson Male Athlete of the Year Award and Alyssa Thomas of women's basketball was voted the Suzanne Tyler Female Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row in balloting by the coaches.

Stefon Diggs of the football team and Taylor Cummings of women's lacrosse were named the male and female Rookie of the Year, respectively.

The 2013 Maryland women's lacrosse team, which completed an undefeated regular season, won its fifth-consecutive ACC title and earned the No. 1 seed in the upcoming NCAA tournament, was recognized as the Terrapin Cup Team of the Year.

Men's soccer's Sasho Cirovski and women's lacrosse's Cathy Reese were honored at the male and female team coaches of the year.

Highlighting the academic awards were the presentation of the President's Cup Team GPA Awards to men's golf and women's cross country. University President Wallace Loh presented the awards.

Other awards given during the ceremony were:

Academic Achievement (awarded to junior or senior from each team with the highest cumulative GPA, minimum 3.0) - Kyle Convissar, baseball; Logan Aronhalt, men's basketball; Sequoia Austin, women's basketball; Owen Blye, men's lacrosse; Lucile Cancre, women's track and field; Kayla Clarke, women's soccer; Catie Coyle, volleyball; Bennett Fulper, football; Bridget Hawvermale, softball; Danielle Kauffman, field hockey; Helge Leikvang, men's soccer; Elizabeth Manzi, gymnastics; Brad Molina, wrestling; Sean O'Leary, men's track and field; Anna Roth, women's cross country; Katie Schwarzmann, women's lacrosse; Christine Shimel, women's golf; Andrew Stein, men's golf and Vroni Van Berlo, women's tennis.

`M' Club Postgraduate Scholarship (male and female who excelled academically and athletically, will have earned a degree by May 2013 and are pursuing postgraduate study) - Will Swaim and Janessa Pope.


Geary F. Eppley Award (male senior student-athlete with the highest GPA) - Brad Molina, wrestling

Charles H. Beebe Jr. Award (female senior student-athlete with the highest GPA) - Anna Roth, women's cross country

Talbot T. Speer Award (male athlete whose extraordinary commitment and dedication serves as an inspiration to teammates, coaches and fellow student-athletes) - Taylor Kemp, men's soccer

Charles P. McCormick Award (Senior from the state of Maryland contributing the most to athletics) - Katie Schwarzmann, women's lacrosse

Founders Award (outstanding athletic ability, academic excellence, character and citizenship) - Alyssa Thomas, women's basketball

James H. Kehoe Award (male and female student-athletes who exemplify the ideals of sportsmanship) - Kevin Dorsey, football; Adreene Elliott, volleyball

Silvester Watch (student-athlete who demonstrates courageousness in the face of adversity) - Josh Asper, wrestling

Maryland Watch (student-athlete who exhibits commitment to Maryland P.R.I.D.E. and demonstrates extraordinary leadership) - Sequoia Austin, women's basketball

Jack Heise Award (outstanding service by a team manager) - Ryland Atkins, women's basketball

Maryland Spirit Award (outstanding service by a member of the Spirit Squad) - William Evans

Lifetime Service Awards - Ben and Hotsy Alperstein; Jackie Heise

Maryland Impact Award (recognizing those who make a positive impact of the student-athlete experience on a national scale) - Dr. Bernard Franklin


Maryland Athletics Community Service Awards - C.J. Brown, football; Melissa Diepold, women's lacrosse; Michael Ehrhardt, men's lacrosse; Stephanie Giameo, gymnastics; TJ Guidice, wrestling; Dani Kram, gymnastics; Welma Luus, women's tennis; Amber Melville, women's track and field; Mamadou Niang, men's track and field.

ACC Community Service Awards - Lucile Cancre, women's track and field; Domenic DeRobertis, wrestling; Janessa Pope, field hockey; Lindsey Puckett, field hockey; Kikanae Punyua, men's track and field; Anna Roth, women's cross country.

NCAA Champs / Life Skills Cup Team Winners - Wrestling and Gymnastics