Aust, Schwarzmann Named Tewaaraton Finalists

May 9, 2013

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Seniors Alex Aust and Katie Schwarzmann were named finalists for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award, given to the top player in college lacrosse, Thursday.

The 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, DC. The reception begins at 6:30pm and the ceremony will start at 8pm.

Aust is heading to the nation's capital for the first time as a Tewaaraton finalist after leading the undefeated Terrapins to their fifth-straight ACC championship. Aust boasts a team-high 60 goals and 48 assists in 2013, and became a lofty member of the Terrapin 100-point club. She is averaging 5.68 points per game as a senior captain.

Schwarzmann, the defending Tewaaraton winner, earned her second straight ACC Offensive Player of the Year honor earlier this week. A native of Sykesville, Md., Schwarzmann became only the third player in league history to earn four career All-ACC honors. She enters the postseason having tallied 51 goals and 23 assists this year and is Maryland's first three-time Tewaaraton finalist.

Maryland has had three players earn the highest honor in collegiate lacrosse by being named Tewaaraton Award winners.

Jen Adams won the first award in the trophy's history in 2001, current assistant coach Caitlyn McFadden earned the program's second in 2010 and Schwarzmann took home the coveted award last season.

In addition to three winners, the Terps have had 12 finalists in the 11-year history of the award including Quinn Carney (2001), Kelly Coppedge (2003, `04), Kelly Kasper (2008), Dana Dobbie (2007, `08) McFadden (2009), Sarah Mollison (2011), Schwarzmann (2011, `12, `13) and Aust (2013).

Maryland plays host to the winner of the Towson/Stony Brook first round matchup Sunday at noon at the Field Hockey & Lacrosse Complex.