Three Terps Tabbed as Tewaaraton Nominees

April 15, 2009

Tewaaraton List Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Three Maryland women's lacrosse players have been named as nominees for the 2009 Tewaaraton Trophy, annually handed out to the nation's best women's lacrosse player. Karri Ellen Johnson, Caitlyn McFadden and Sarah Mollison have all been tabbed to the prestigious list.

Johnson's 55 goals this season are a Maryland program-best for a freshman. The attacker from Annapolis, Md., has snagged two ACC Player of the Week awards for the undefeated Terps this season. Johnson leads the ACC in goals and ranks in the top 12 in goals and draw controls in the nation. She is the lone freshman on this year's Tewaaraton list.

Mollison, a sophomore, tops the ACC and ranks eighth in the nation in assists this season with 32. The Australian-product boasts 61 points for the second most-prolific offense in the nation in 2009.

McFadden ranks in the top three in goals, assists, points, ground balls, draw controls and caused turnovers for the ACC regular-season champions. The captain, who was an All-American last season as a sophomore, is also ranked in the top ten in goals, assists, points and shots in the always-challenging ACC.

Maryland joins Duke and Northwestern as the only teams to have three athletes on the list.

Nominees were selected by coaches across all three divisions. The Tewaaraton Trophy will be given to given out at the ninth-annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 28, 2009.

Maryland will take its 15-0 record on the road with an ACC regular-season finale at Virginia Tech at 1 p.m. on Saturday.