Terps Announce 2010 Schedule

Oct. 29, 2009

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The 2010 Maryland women's lacrosse schedule will feature eight opponents that competed in the 2009 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship, announced by head coach Cathy Reese on Thursday.

The Terps, who return all 12 starters from last year's ACC championship squad that went 21-1, open the season at home on Valentine's Day with a match against Richmond. Maryland then treks to Happy Valley for a game against Penn State Feb. 21 before returning home for a rematch of last season's ACC championship final against Duke Feb. 27 in Durham, N.C.

Maryland stays in conference play with a home night battle against rival Virginia March 5. The Terps then make the short trip to Fairfax, Va., for a contest at George Mason March 9. Maryland's Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex will then play host to four-straight games including New Hampshire (March 13), Georgetown (March 17), Boston College (March 20) and Stanford (March 25).

The Terps head back on the road for a match at James Madison March 27 before welcoming Towson to College Park March 31.

Maryland then embarks on a tough three-game road trip when it travels to a trio of 2008 NCAA tournament squads with jaunts to Penn on April 2, North Carolina on April 10 and Princeton on April 14. Penn and North Carolina both advanced to the NCAA final four last season with Penn falling to eventual champion Northwestern while the Tar Heels edged Maryland, 8-7, in the semifinals.

Virginia Tech will give the Terps its final test on April 17 before Maryland plays host to the 2009 ACC Women's Lacrosse Championship April 22-25.

The Terps wrap up the 2009 regular season with matches against Massachusetts May 1 while Senior Day for Maryland's nine seniors will commence against Dartmouth on May 8.

"We are very excited to release our 2010 schedule," Reese, who is in her fourth season at the helm of the Maryland program, said. "We are thrilled to be hosting the ACC Tournament this year and it's great to not only show off our fantastic facilities, but also give local fans a chance to see some of the best college lacrosse in the country. It is a challenging schedule that will hopefully prepare us for our ultimate goal in the postseason."

Reese, who was tabbed ACC Coach of the Year in 2009, welcomes back five All-Americans in 2010 including ACC Player of the Year Caitlyn McFadden and Rookie of the Year Karri Ellen Johnson.