Three Terps Named Tewaaraton Nominees

April 25, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Maryland led the way with three student-athletes on the list of nominees for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top player in college lacrosse.

Karri Ellen Johnson, Iliana Sanza and Katie Schwarzmann represent Maryland on the list of 25 players to be withered down to a final five for the award ceremony May 31 in Washington D.C.

Johnson is a three-time nominee and has been tabbed to the watch list all four seasons at Maryland. The senior attacker is second and fourth on Maryland's career goals and points list, respectively. The Annapolis, Md., native has racked up a team-high 55 draw controls as a captain for the Terps in 2012.

Sanza is the Terps' top defender, helping the unit limit opponents to a mere 7.47 goals per game this season. The junior from Cockeysville, Md., has tallied a team-high 33 ground balls and 27 caused turnovers for fifth-ranked Maryland. She has also recorded 30 draw controls.

Schwarzmann was a finalist for the award as a sophomore last season. The junior from Sykesville, Md., was crowned tournament most valuable player Monday night after guiding the Terps to their fourth straight ACC title. She leads Maryland with 61 goals and is second in points with 74.

Maryland faces #15 Georgetown Wednesday night in its regular season finale.