THEY'RE BACK! Terps Win 10th NCAA Title

May 30, 2010

Box Score |  Photo Gallery 

TOWSON, Md. - The Maryland women's lacrosse team defeated No. 2 Northwestern, 13-11, for its first NCAA Championship since 2001 and nation-leading 10th overall in front of a record-breaking crowd of 9,782 Sunday at Unitas Stadium.

Tournament Most Outstanding Player Caitlyn McFadden scored two goals, added an assist and, most importantly, shut down All-American attacker Katrina Dowd, who was held without a goal after racking up 77 heading into Sunday's showdown. The Terps snapped Northwestern's streak of five-consecutive national titles. Maryland was led in scoring by junior Sarah Mollison, sophomore Karri Ellen Johnson and freshman Katie Schwarzmann, who all tallied three goals apiece.

After Northwestern began the match on a 6-0 run, Maryland finally landed on the scoreboard after Schwarzmann connected off a Mollison missed shot that ricocheted off the pipe at 18:49. Following a yellow card issued to the Wildcat bench, Mollison nailed her next opportunity via a Kristy Black assist. Johnson then extended her scoring streak to 45 consecutive games with a free position goal at 15:54 to cut Northwestern's lead in half.

The Wildcats then re-extended their lead to five with a pair of free position scores before the Terps wrapped up the stanza with five unanswered goals, including two each from Schwarzmann and Mollison.

Maryland took its first lead of the contest with 3:33 elapsed in the second half after McFadden notched her first goal of the match. Brandi Jones padded the Terrapin lead to two when the junior took the ball from midfield to the cage for a solo shot at 19:57. Alexandra Frank snapped a nearly 28-minute Northwestern scoreless drought with a goal at 17:39 and the Wildcats added another to tie the match 5:36 later. The Terps would move on to outscore the Wildcats, 4-1, in the last 10 minutes, capped by a Johnson score at 2:03.

"I'm just really soaking it all in; what an amazing night for the Terps,¨ head coach Cathy Reese, who has now won eight national championships at Maryland - four as a player, three as an assistant, and one as a head coach, said. "I'm so proud of this 2010 team. The heart and the fight they displayed were outstanding. I think they showed such great composure and such great poise and just played a great game to fight back from that.¨

Joining McFadden on the all-tournament team were Johnson, Mollison, Schwarzmann and Karissa Taylor. Maryland returns 23 letterwinners next season. It was the final sendoff for Terrapin seniors McFadden, Taylor, Amanda Spinnenweber, Abby Caso, Allie Perkins, Jenny Collins, Megan McGarvey, Kate Faas and Brittany Jones.

NOTES: McFadden concluded her illustrious career by tallying a point in 48 consecutive games and is now tied for third with current Maryland assistant coach Quinn Carney on the Terrapin all-time assists list with 110...Maryland is 43-16 all-time in NCAA Tournament games and 10-5 all-time in NCAA Championship games...Maryland has played in more NCAA Tournament games (59), more NCAA Championship games (15), won more NCAA Tournament games (43) and won more NCAA Championships (10) than any other school in NCAA Division I history...head coach Cathy Reese is 8-3 all-time in NCAA Tournament games and her .727 winning percentage ranks as the fourth-highest mark in tournament history...the 22 wins for Maryland this spring ranks as the second-highest single-season total in program history and third-highest mark in NCAA history...record...Maryland's 62 goals in NCAA Tournament action this season tied for the fourth-highest total in tournament history with the 2001 Terrapins, their last NCAA title-winning team prior to Sunday's victory...Johnson finished her season with 69 goals in 2010, which ranks as the eighth-highest single-season total in program history...the Terps have won 10 NCAA championships and captured the AIAW title in 1981.