Vote for McFadden and O'Donnell

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

Aug. 26, 2010

Vote for McFadden and O'Donnell!

NEW YORK - Field hockey star Katie O'Donnell and Caitlyn McFadden, a former women's lacrosse standout, represent the University of Maryland as finalists for The Women's Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year Award.

An impressive list of elite athletes from 20 different sports is vying for the award, given to one athlete in team sports and another in individual. Fans can vote through midnight on August 31 by casting their ballot at or by following the link above.

McFadden and O'Donnell are two of only three collegiate athletes on the list of finalists, joining Penn State volleyball All-American Megan Hodge. Other athletes up for the prestigious award include Meghan Agosta (Ice Hockey), Betsey Armstrong (Water Polo), Jennie Finch (Softball), Larissa Franca & Juliana Felisberta Silva (Beach Volleyball), Kaillie Humphries & Heather Moyse (Bobsled), Diana Taurasi (Basketball) and Marta Vieira da Silva (Soccer).

The Women's Sports Foundation will celebrate the accomplishments of the top women athletes at the 31st Annual Salute to Women in Sports Awards gala on Tuesday, October 12, 2010. The annual fundraising gala hosted by Mary Carillo will take place at New York City's famed Waldorf-Astoria Hotel.

Each year, the Women's Sports Foundation recognizes these women for their incredible achievements as members of a team and as individual performers. Athletes were considered for the 2010 ballot based on their athletic achievements between August 1, 2009, and July 31, 2010. Nominations for the Sportswoman of the Year - Individual and Team awards are made by sport governing bodies and the public.