Terp Duo Named Tewaaraton Finalists

May 16, 2011

LIKE! Maryland Athletics on Facebook

Follow UMTerps on Twitter

Lacrosse Magazine breaks down the final Tewaaraton list

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Senior Sarah Mollison and sophomore Katie Schwarzmann have been named two of the five finalists for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award, as announced by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

Mollison, who garnered Maryland's fifth consecutive ACC Player of the Year nod last week, leads the Terps in points with 92. The Melbourne, Australia, native has tallied a point in 65 straight games and is one of only two active players nationally to boast 100 career goals and 100 career assists.

Schwarzmann is the first sophomore named to the list since former winner Hannah Nielsen (Northwestern) in 2007. Schwarzmann has been a critical component of Maryland's midfield, wreaking havoc offensively with a team-best 56 goals and also helping aid one of the nation's best defenses.

It is the first time a school has had two Tewaaraton finalists since 2008.

The Tewaaraton Award is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is annually awarded to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the year. 2011's ceremony will be held June 2 at The Warner Theatre in Washington, DC.