Timchal Garners South-Region Coach Of The Year Honors

May 31, 2000

College Park, Md. - After leading Maryland to its sixth straight NCAA title, head coach Cindy Timchal has been named the 2000 South Region Coach of the Year by the International Women's Lacrosse Coaches' Association. Timchal, who owns a 235-52 (.819) record for her career and a 169-12 (.934) record at Maryland, was also named the Atlantic Coast Conference co-Coach of the Year earlier this season.

In addition to winning her seventh NCAA championship overall at Maryland, Timchal led the Terps to their third ACC Championship, and second in a row, with a 17-6 win over North Carolina on April 23. This season, Timchal and the top-ranked Terrapins finished with a 21-1 record, while playing to a 17-1 record against teams ranked in the IWLCA poll, and an impressive 8-1 against Top 10 opponents.

Maryland, the winningest program ever in women's lacrosse history, holds the longest active Division I women's title streak in the country. Timchal has led the Terps to the Final Four every year since her arrival at Maryland, reaching the title game an unbelievable 10 of the last 11 years. During her 10-year career with the Terps, Timchal has coached over 50 All-Americans, including six Brine/IWLCA All-Americans this season alone.

Sue Murphy from Boston University and Chris Sailor from Princeton also received regional coach of the year honors. Murphy, the America East Coach of the Year, earned North Region Coach of the Year honors for leading her team to their first NCAA appearance in school history and winning a school-record 15 regular season games. Tiger head coach Sailor received both Mid-Atlantic Coach of the Year and IWLCA Coach of the Year honors for her runner-up finish this season, achieved after losing seven starters from the 1999 squad.