Five Terps Earn IWLCA Regional Honors

May 30, 2010

Five Maryland student-athletes garnered IWLCA South Region All-America honors, announced Friday.

Repeat honorees included seniors Caitlyn McFadden and Karissa Taylor as well as junior Sarah Mollison and sophomore Karri Ellen Johnson. All four nabbed first team accolades for the second consecutive season.

McFadden garnered her third-straight regional honor in 2010 and adds it to her Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and Tournament Most Valuable Player this season. The senior has also been named a Tewaaraton and Honda Award finalist.

Taylor has been Maryland's top defender this season, helping lead the best defense in the nation. The two-time captain has helped the Terps hold opposing offenses to less than seven goals per game.

Mollison and Johnson make up Maryland's dynamic one-two punch at attack. The duo has racked up 108 goals and 48 assists for a Terp team that is averaging 14.41 goals per contest in 2010.

Added to this year's list is freshman Katie Schwarzmann. The Sykesville, Md., native was also named ACC Rookie of the Year after racking up 30 goals, 11 assists and 37 ground balls as one of Maryland's top midfielders.

Top-seeded Maryland battles No. 2 Northwestern Sunday for the 2010 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship title.