Three Terrapins Among 15 Nominees For Women's Tewaaraton Award

March 7, 2001

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Fifteen of the most talented men and women's collegiate lacrosse players in the United States have been selected as candidates for the first annual Tewaaraton Trophy, the most cherished and prestigious award a lacrosse player can receive and a symbol of excellence in college lacrosse. Heading the list of 15 female candidates are three Maryland Terrapins -- Jen Adams, Quinn Carney and Allison Comito.

The University Club of Washington, DC, in conjunction with the Tewaaraton Award Foundation, is pleased to announce the establishment of the Tewaaraton Trophy. The trophy will be presented annually to the top female and male collegiate lacrosse players in the United States. Scholarship money will be given to the award recipient's college or university general scholarship fund and preference will be given to Native Americans seeking scholarships. The Foundation committee honors Native American heritage with the name "Tewaaraton," the name the Mohawk nation gave to their game and the progenitor of present day lacrosse and has received approval from the Mohawk Council of Elders.

Every eligible male and female college varsity player in Divisions I, II and III is considered a nominee. Nominations were requested from all coaches. A five-coach selection committee for both males and females will oversee the voting process. There will be a maximum of three wild-card spots left open for a new candidate(s) who emerges during the season. The five finalists will be announced on May 1, 2001.

The inaugural Tewaaraton Trophy will be presented at The University Club of Washington, DC on June 7, 2001 at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners.

Top 15 Women

(listed alphabetically)
Name				Position                School
Jen Adams			Attack			University of Maryland
Quinn Carney			Midfield		University of Maryland
Allison Comito			Attack			University of Maryland
Tricia Dabrowski		Goal			Loyola College
Erin Elbe			Attack			Georgetown University
Bowen Holden			Goal			Georgetown University
Kate Kaiser			Midfield		Duke University
Caitlin McLean			Defense 		Georgetown University
Stacey Morlang			Midfield		Loyola College
Kristin Osborn			Attack			Amherst College
Gina Sambus			Midfield		University of Virginia
Julie Shaner			Midfield		Princeton University
Lauren Simone			Attack			Princeton University
Kim Smith			Attack			Princeton University		    Sheehan Stanwick		Attack			Georgetown University

Top 15 Men

(listed alphabetically)
Name				Position	        School
Roger Buttles			Midfield		Harvard University
Josh Coffman			Midfield		Syracuse University
R.J. Degenfelder		Goal			C.W. Post College
Conor Denihan			Midfield		John Hopkins University
Conor Gill			Attack			University of Virginia
John Glatzel			Defense 		Syracuse University
Chris Hartofoli			Midfield		Duke University
Holt Hopkins			Attack			Middlebury College
Mark Koontz			Defense 		University of Virginia
Rob Mulligan			Goal			Syracuse University
Doug Shanahan			Midfield		Hofstra University
Jeff Sonke			Attack			University of North Carolina
Mike Springer			Attack			Syracuse University
Trevor Tierney			Goal			Princeton University
Dave Ulrich			Attack			Notre Dame University