Five Terps Named All-ACC

April 27, 2006

BALTIMORE - Five Maryland Terrapins were named to the All-ACC Women's lacrosse team as Becky Clipp, Delia Cox, Katie Doolittle, Kelly Kasper and Krista Pellizzi were among the 19 players selected. Maryland and Duke led all squads with five selections each.

Clipp, Maryland's anchor and leader on defense, was the only line defender on the All-ACC team. She is among the conference leaders in caused turnovers and groundballs per game.

Cox was selected to the All-ACC for the third time in her career. She leads the team in goals and points, and ranks among the top players in the conference in those categories. She has started 78 straight games for Maryland, and has set career-highs this season in goals, assists and points.

Doolittle earned her first All-ACC recognition with hot play down the stretch and in ACC play for the Terrapins. She has a career-high 34 goals this season.

Kasper, a sophomore, ranks among the ACC leaders in six different statistical categories: goals, assists, points, draw controls, groundballs and caused turnovers.

Pellizzi earned the first All-ACC recognition with a breakout season for the Terps. She has more goals, assists and points this year than her previous two years combined.

Below is the entire ACC team:

Katie Chrest, Attack, Duke
Becky Clipp, Defense, Maryland
Kim Connors, Midfield, Virginia
Jenn Cook, Defense, North Carolina
Delia Cox, Midfield, Maryland
Katie Doolittle, Midfield, Maryland
Kristen Hordy, Goalkeeper, North Carolina
Leigh Jester, Attack, Duke
Christina Juras, Midfield, North Carolina
Kelly Kasper, Midfield, Maryland
Tyler Leachman, Attack, Virginia
Nikki Lieb, Midfield, Virginia
Melissa McCarthy, Midfield, North Carolina
Michelle Menser, Midfield, Duke
Krista Pellizzi, Midfield, Maryland
Lindsay Pieper, Attack, Virginia Tech
Rachel Sanford, Midfield, Duke
Kristen Waagbo, Attack, Duke
Blair Weymouth, Attack, Virginia

2006 Player of the Year
Katie Chrest, Duke

2006 Freshman of the Year
Blair Weymouth, Virginia

2006 Coach of the Year
Kerstin Kimel, Duke