McFadden Named ACC Women's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Aug. 4, 2009

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Maryland junior Caitlyn McFadden has been tabbed Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year as announced by Commissioner John D. Swofford today.

McFadden completed a conference award sweep this year by winning the ACC Player of the Year, Tournament Most Valuable Player and Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards.

A Kinesiology major, McFadden is a three-time ACC All-Academic team selection and was tabbed IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year in 2009 after pacing the Terps with 86 points on 54 goals and 32 assists. McFadden, who hails from Phoenix, Md., was also a Tewaaraton Trophy finalist as well as racking up first-team All-American status for the first time in her career.

McFadden is joined by four other Terps on the 2009 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse team as juniors Katie Gallagher, Brittany Jones and Amanda Spinnenweber as well as sophomore Laura Merrifield were named to the squad.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the past two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during her academic career.