Chrest Leads Duke Past Virginia For ACC Title

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

May. 1, 2005

BALTIMORE, Md. - Duke outscored Virginia 5-2 in the second half to break a 4-4 halftime deadlock to claim its first-ever ACC Tournament title in women's lacrosse. ACC Player of the Year Katie Chrest scored two goals and an assist and was named the tournament's most valuable player.

Kristen Waagbo and Rachel Sanford each scored a hat trick and an assist as the Blue Devils avenged last season's loss in the finals to the Cavaliers.

Duke jumped out to a 3-0 through the first 15 minutes after a goal by Sanford and two from Chrest. Virginia's Cary Chasney forced a turnover and picked up the ground ball to start a Cavalier possession in the game's 17th minute. Kate Breslin took a feed from behind the cage and dodged to her left to get free to get the `Hoos on the board with 13:14 left in the first half.

The Blue Devils responded four minutes later with a goal from Rachel Sanford on an assist from Leigh Jester. Virginia took a timeout after the goal, and responded with a 3-0 run to close the half. Breslin helped spark the run with a goal and Meredith Lazarus found the back of the net and Kim Conners converted on a free-position shot. UVa made the run despite losing three of the last four draws in the half.

Duke re-captured the momentum quickly in the second half as Sanford controlled the draw and raced down the field for a goal just eight seconds into the second frame. Play settled down in the next seven minutes before Chrest found Jester to give the Blue Devils a 6-4 lead with 22:09 left in the game.

Duke won the following draw but Tyler Leachman forced a turnover and started a Virginia possession that ended with Breslin notching her third goal of the day to make the score 6-5 at the 20:36 mark. Blue Devil goalie Megan Huether made a save on UVa's Amy Appelt which started the Duke transition. The possession culminated on a goal from Kristen Waagbo - this time coming from a feed from Sanford to push Duke's lead back to two goals. The goal came just over a minute after the Virginia score.

Breslin again pulled UVa back to within a goal finishing a pass from Leachman at 17:44, but that was as close as the Cavaliers would get. Waagbo scored a pair down the stretch to seal Duke's first ACC Tournament title.

Duke's Caline McHenry shut down the 2004 ACC and national player of the year Amy Appelt, who was held to no goals or assists and six shots. Chrest and McHenry were joined by Huether, Jester and Sanford on the All-Tournament team. Virginia's Chasney, Appelt, Nikki Lieb and Breslin were also named to the team.

2005 ACC All-Tournament Team
Katie Chrest, Duke, MVP
Megan Huether, Duke
Caline McHenry, Duke
Leigh Jester, Duke
Rachel Sanford, Duke
Cary Chasney, Virginia
Amy Appelt, Virginia
Nikki Lieb, Virginia
Kate Breslin, Virginia
Kelly Kasper, Maryland
Christina Juras, North Carolina
Natasha Fuchs, Virginia Tech