National Champion Terps Announce 2011 Slate

Nov. 29, 2010

Printable Schedule

Follow UMTerps on Twitter

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Head coach Cathy Reese and the defending national champion Maryland women's lacrosse team has announced their 2011 schedule, highlighted by home matches against Duke, Syracuse, Penn and North Carolina.

Maryland, which is coming off a 22-1 record in 2010, will hit the road for two matches against Richmond (Feb. 13) and Delaware (Feb. 16) before opening the home portion of its season against Penn State Feb. 20.

The Terps remain home for its first taste of Atlantic Coast Conference action with a match against Duke Feb. 26, and then trek to Charlottesville for a battle with Virginia March 4.

Maryland welcomes George Mason for a midweek match March 8 and cap the week when Syracuse heads to College Park March 12. The Terps end the month of March with three of its four matches on the road, including a tilt at Boston College March 20 and a trip to the site of the 2011 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship at Stony Brook March 22.

Home matches against Penn (April 1), North Carolina (April 9) and Princeton (April 13) close out the Terps' home slate before traveling to Virginia Tech April 16 for the conference regular season finale.

Maryland, the two-time defending ACC Tournament champion, looks to secure its third straight crown when the league championship takes place April 21-24 in Cary, N.C.

The Terps wrap up the regular season with away games at Georgetown (April 28) and Dartmouth (May 1) before the NCAA Tournament kicks off the second week of May.

"We are thrilled to announce this year's schedule," reigning IWLCA National Coach of the Year Cathy Reese said. "The schedule has a great blend of conference rivals and regional foes. I think it will also be exciting for our team to play at the site of last year's NCAA Championship (Towson) as well as the 2011 version in Stony Brook. We can't wait to get started."

Maryland returns three of its five IWLCA All-Americans from 2010, including senior Sarah Mollison, junior Karri Ellen Johnson, and sophomore Katie Schwarzmann. Seniors Laura Merrifield and Katie Gallagher, who join Mollison as captains on this year's squad, also return as Maryland boasts seven starters from the 2010 squad that captured the Terps' first national title since 2001.