Women's Lacrosse Well Represented on U.S. National Team

June 3, 1998

ANNAPOLIS, MD -- Denise Wescott, the head lacrosse coach at Delaware and chair of the United States National Team selection committee, announced the roster for the United States National Team for 1998-99. Maryland has 11 players represented on the squad, including this year's NCAA Tournament MVP Cathy Nelson. Sophomores Christie Jenkins and Kristin Sommar, members of this year's NCAA championship team, were also selected.

Joining Nelson and Jenkins are Kelly Amonte (1996), current Terp assistant coach Erin Brown (1990), Liz Downing (1996), Dana Gwaltney (1996), Teresa Ingram (1994), Laura Harmon Schuman (1994), Maureen Scott (1994), Michele Uhlfelder (1991) and Jessica Wilk (1990).

The U.S. is the three-time defending champion of the quadrennial World Cup. The team retained the title with a 3-2 sudden-victory decision over Australia in the gold medal match in 1997 in Japan.