McFadden Wins Tewaaraton Award

June 3, 2010

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Just as the NCAA Championship trophy did last Sunday, the Tewaaraton Award has returned to College Park as senior Caitlyn McFadden was named the top player in the nation Thursday.

McFadden leaves Maryland as one of the best players in its storied program's history. The Phoenix, Md., native finished her career third on Maryland's career assists list with 110 and sixth in points with 259. She wrapped up her illustrious career by garnering NCAA Most Outstanding Player honors, guiding the Terps to the NCAA Championship title for the first time since 2001. She scored two goals and defensively held Northwestern's Katrina Dowd scoreless to lift the Terps in the title match.

McFadden is the second Terp to garner the award since its inception in 2001. Jen Adams captured the first Tewaaraton after leading Maryland to its seventh consecutive national championship.

The Tewaaraton Award is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is annually awarded to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the year. The award was presented Thursday at the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

A replay of the presentation will be available locally on WUSA-Channel 9 on Saturday, June 12th at 12:30 p.m.