Four Terps Land on Latest Tewaaraton List

April 18, 2011

LIKE! Maryland Athletics on Facebook

Follow UMTerps on Twitter

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The 2011 Tewaaraton watch list has been whittled down to 24 players with a nation-best four hailing from the University of Maryland, the Greater Washington Sports Alliance announced Monday.

Brittany Dipper, Karri Ellen Johnson, Sarah Mollison and Katie Schwarzmann have all made the most recent cut. Below is a breakdown of Maryland's final four:

Brittany Dipper
• Named ACC Defensive Player of the Week after racking up seven saves and two ground balls against No. 5 Virginia (3/4)
• Made a season-best eight saves against No. 10 James Madison (3/26)
• Boasts nation-best 6.48 goals against average through 15 games
• Has tallied 77 saves with a 15-0 record in the cage

Karri Ellen Johnson
• Lacrosse Magazine's National Preseason Player of the Year
• Named ACC Offensive Player of the Week (2/28)
• Fourth all-time in career goals at Maryland with 177
• Tops in the ACC in goals per game (3.55) and second in points per game (4.64)
• Has also racked up 14 ground balls, 35 draw controls and 14 caused turnovers through 11 games, missing the last four contests due to injury

Sarah Mollison
• One of only two active players with 100 goals and 100 assists in her career
• Named ACC Offensive Player of the Week (4/5)
• Third in assists and eighth in points on Maryland's respective career lists
• Tops in the ACC in points per game (5.00) and assists per game (2.67); also ranked first in assists nationally
• Two-time captain's 40 assists in 2011 is ranked eighth in Terrapin single-season annals

Katie Schwarzmann
• Leads the Terps with 44 goals, ranking second in the ACC in goals per game
• Named ACC Offensive Player of the Week (4/12) and ACC Defensive Player of the Week (3/1)
• Paces No. 1 Maryland in ground balls (29) and caused turnovers (19); second in draw controls (31)
• Has started in all 15 games for the undefeated Terps

The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at Fans can also follow the Tewaaraton Award on Facebook for daily updates and news.