Three Terps Capture Player Of The Year Honors From IWLCA

June 19, 2000

College Park, Md. - The International Women's Lacrosse Coaches' Association (IWLCA) has honored three Maryland student-athletes with 2000 Player of the Year recognition. Jen Adams (Marino, South Australia) was named attacker of the year, Alex Kahoe (Villanova, Pa.) was named the goaltender of the year, and Tonia Porras (Shaker Heights, Ohio) was named the defender of the year. Only one IWLCA player of the year, Jess Marion from James Madison who was named midfielder of the year, was not a member of the national championship Terrapin squad.

The first-ever winner of the Honda Award for women's lacrosse, Adams was also selected as College Lacrosse USA's women's player of the year. A first-team Brine/IWLCA All-American, Adams led the nation in scoring with a 6.18 ppg average. A junior, she ended the season with 81 goals and 55 assists for an NCAA record 136 points for the 2000 season. The 2000 NCAA Tournament MVP, Adams shattered the Maryland single-season marks for goals, assists and points and will begin the 2001 season within striking distance of every Maryland career record, and several NCAA career records. Previously this season, she also received 2000 ACC Player of the Year accolades as well as NCAA and ACC Tournament MVP honors. Last week, Adams was also recognized as the GTE Spring Academic At-Large All-American of the Year for her academic accomplishments this season. The attacker of the year honor was Adams second straight.

One of the Terps' tri-captains this season, Kahoe is receiving her second straight goalkeeper of the year recognition from the IWLCA. Kahoe was a four-year starter for Maryland, and was consistently among the nation's best goalies throughout her career. An All-ACC pick, her final goals against average was a mere 7.02, good enough for third in the nation. She also owns a .591 save percentage, which ranked 11th nationally. The top goalie in the ACC, her 968 career saves are the most ever in Terrapin history, only Marylynne Morgan (1981-84) is even close with 720. Kahoe was also a member of both the NCAA and ACC all-tournament teams.

A dominating force for the Terrapin defense, Porras anchored an impressive unit that gave up only 7.14 goals per game, good enough for fourth nationally. Maryland's defense allowed seven or less goals 14 times this past season, including five games where the Terps allowed less then five goals. In addition to her defensive efforts, Porras added four goals and five assists to the offensive efforts. The senior finished the season with NCAA and ACC all-tournament honors as well as all-conference honors.

Maryland (21-1) won its sixth consecutive national championship on May 21. The Terrapins' championship win-streak is the longest active streak in Division I women's athletics.