McFadden Tabbed 2009 Tewaaraton Finalist

May 6, 2009

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Maryland midfielder Caitlyn McFadden has been named a finalist for the 2009 Tewaaraton Trophy, an award annually given out to the nation's top women's lacrosse player.

McFadden, a junior, has racked up a team-best 77 points this season for the 19-0 Terps. The Phoenix, Md., native ranks in the top three in goals (48), assists (29), points (77), ground balls (23), draw controls (36), and caused turnovers (17) for second-ranked Maryland in 2009. McFadden ranks 11th in points, 37th in goals and 23rd in assists nationally for the Terps.

A tri-captain, McFadden has led a youth-laden squad that did not regularly start a senior to an unblemished regular season, an ACC championship and the program's 20th consecutive bid to the NCAA tournament. The midfielder was also tabbed ACC Women's Lacrosse Tournament Most Valuable Player in addition to landing on the All-ACC team for the second-straight season.

McFadden is joined by Hannah Nielsen (Northwestern), Jillian Byers (Notre Dame) and ACC-foes Carolyn Davis (Duke) and Amber Falcone (North Carolina) as finalists. Nielsen won the coveted award last season. Maryland's lone Tewaaraton Trophy winner is Jen Adams (2001).

The 9th Annual Tewaaraton Trophy Award Banquet will be held May 28, 2009 in Washington D.C.

Maryland begins the quest for its 11th national title when it plays host to Colgate at noon on Sunday in the first round of the 2009 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship.