Three Terps Named First Team All-Americans

June 2, 2010

Caitlyn McFadden, Karissa Taylor and Karri Ellen Johnson earned IWLCA First Team All-America honors, announced Tuesday.

The trio was joined by Sarah Mollison and Katie Schwarzmann, who racked up second and third-team honors, respectively.

McFadden adds the award to her ever-growing trophy case, which in 2010 includes Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year, ACC Tournament MVP, and NCAA Championship Most Outstanding Player. The senior learns Thursday if she will rack up the program's second Tewaaraton award and first since 2001. This is McFadden's second straight season on the first-team list.

Taylor joins her classmate and fellow captain as a first-team awardee after earning third-team status in 2009. The defender played a pivotal role in the Terps' top-ranked defense, which surrendered fewer than seven goals per game.

Johnson was tabbed to the first team for the second consecutive season. She again led the Terps in goals (69) and landed on the NCAA Championship All-Tournament team, scoring 14 goals tournament play.

Mollison also played a critical role in the Terrapin title run, netting a hat trick in the finale against Northwestern. The attacker from Melbourne, Australia, garnered second-team honors for the second straight season. She notched 45 goals and 30 assists in 2010.

Schwarzmann picked up third-team status after earning ACC Rookie of the Year honors earlier this season. The freshman from Sykesville, Md., was second in ground balls and fourth in points.