McFadden Captures Honda Award

June 7, 2010

NEW YORK, N.Y. - Caitlyn McFadden won the Honda Sports Award in lacrosse, designating her as the nation's top collegiate female athlete in the sport.

The honor was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 34th year. McFadden was previously nominated for the award in 2009. She is the second athlete from the University of Maryland to receive the award for lacrosse, following Jen Adams, who won twice (2000 and 2001).

The Honda Sports Award is given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports, along with automatic eligibility to become a "Top Three" finalist for Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year. McFadden was voted over three other senior nominees: Katrina Dowd of Northwestern University, Brittany Kalkstein of the University of Virginia and Jenn Russell of the University of North Carolina. The nominees were selected by the United States Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Association (USILWCA).

Noted McFadden: "I feel so incredibly grateful to be named alongside the top players in all of college sports by winning this year's Honda Sports Award. This honor would not have been possible without my amazing coaches and teammates. As a unit we were able to bring the national championship back to College Park and it feels great to share this prestigious award with them as well."

A native of Phoenix, MD, McFadden was named the NCAA Most Outstanding Player this year after leading the Terrapins to the national championship, defeating their longtime rival Northwestern University 13-11. The 2010 championship win capped a best-ever 22-1 season record for the team. The three-time IWLCA All-American ran up an astounding 48-game point-scoring streak, and tied for third on the all-time assists list at Maryland with a total of 110. She was chosen Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and ACC Tournament MVP, both for the second time, after pacing her team to its second-straight ACC championship. She also repeated this year as the Midfielder of the Year. Winner of the Tewaaraton Trophy, McFadden also played for the winning U.S. team during the 2009 FIL World Cup.

Like many Honda Sports Award winners, McFadden is an academic standout in addition to her excellence in athletics. She was named COSIDA Academic All-District in 2010, and graduated with a 3.7 GPA, majoring in kinesiology.

Previously announced Honda Sports Award recipients include the University of Illinois' Angela Bizzarri for cross country, Katie O'Donnell from the University of Maryland for field hockey, Whitney Engen from the University of North Carolina for soccer, Megan Hodge from Penn State University for volleyball, Julia Smit from Stanford University for swimming & diving, Maya Moore from the University of Connecticut for basketball, Susan Jackson from Louisiana State University for Gymnastics, Caroline Hedwall of Oklahoma State University for golf and Lisa Koll of Iowa State University for track & field. Honda Award winners in softball and tennis will be announced in the coming days. The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions. On June 21, 2010, the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup at a ceremony in Los Angeles, at which the "Top Three" finalists are scheduled to attend.

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. has sponsored the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program for 25 consecutive years. Honda has donated over $2 million in grants and scholarships to universities over the course of the program. See for more information.