Three Terps Named Tewaaraton Nominees

April 15, 2010

Tewaaraton Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Maryland was one of three programs to land three players on the 2010 Tewaaraton Award nominee list, announced Thursday by The Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

Seniors Caitlyn McFadden and Karissa Taylor, along with sophomore Karri Ellen Johnson, are three of 25 student-athletes still in the running for the prestigious award, given annually to the top player in women's college lacrosse.

McFadden, who was a finalist for the award in 2009, is second on the squad in goals (28), points (52), draw controls (22), while leading the Terps in caused turnovers (18) and assists (24). The senior, who garnered IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year honors last season, was named Lacrosse Magazine's National Preseason Player of the Year earlier this season.

An often overlooked star for the Terps, Taylor has been the backbone of Maryland's defense for four seasons, including two as a captain. The senior has racked up 19 ground balls and caused 15 turnovers while helping Maryland hold its opponent to a mere 7.29 goals per game in 2010.

Johnson, who tied a career-high with six goals against Princeton Wednesday night, has scored three or more goals in eight matches this season and leads the Terps with 44 goals, 56 points and 49 draw controls in 2010. The sophomore also boasts three game-winners, 17 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers. She is one of only three sophomores to make the cut.

The award will be presented on June 3rd, 2010 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.