Proud Past Moment: The 2010 National Championship

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

As the University of Maryland makes its transition from a storied history in the Atlantic Coast Conference to a promising future in the Big Ten conference, the Terps will reflect on special Proud Past moments during the 2014 campaign.

One of the greatest comebacks NCAA history, the Maryland women’s lacrosse team erased an early six-goal deficit against defending champion Northwestern to hoist the national championship trophy for the first time in nine seasons in 2010.

In front of a record-breaking crowd of nearly 10,000 at Unitas Stadium on the campus of Towson University, Tournament Most Outstanding Player Caitlyn McFadden scored two goals, added an assist and, most importantly, shut down All-American attacker Katrina Dowd, who was held without a goal after racking up 77 heading into the highly-anticipated matchup.

It was the first national title as a head coach for Cathy Reese, who had previously won four as a player and another three as an assistant for the Terrapins.