Four Terps Named IWLCA First Team All-Americans

May 15, 2013

Alex Aust, Taylor Cummings, Iliana Sanza and Katie Schwarzmann were named IWLCA First Team All-Americans, announced Wednesday.

The IWLCA will honor the 48 National All-Americans at the IWLCA All-American banquet on May 25, 2013 at the Radisson Hotel Valley Forge in King Prussia, Pa.

Aust has led the Terps all season long, racking up a staggering 5.6 points per game for one of the nation's most dynamic attacks. She's also been stellar in Maryland's re-defending effort, tallying 24 ground balls and 17 caused turnovers.

Cummings is Maryland's first freshman to earn IWLCA First Team All-America honors since Karri Ellen Johnson in 2009. The ACC Rookie of the Year led Maryland in draw controls with 82 and is fourth on the team with 50 points on 37 goals and 13 assists.

It is the second straight first team honor for Sanza, the reigning IWLCA National Defender of the Year. Sanza, a native of Cockeysville, Md., was named ACC Defender of the Year for the second time in her career after helping lead Maryland to their fifth consecutive conference title. She tallied three ground balls and three caused turnovers to guide Maryland past Stony Brook last weekend to advance to the quarterfinals where it will face Duke this Saturday.

Schwarzmann - who along with Aust was named a Tewaaraton finalist late last week - was tabbed to the first team for the third straight season. The two-time defending IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year was also named ACC Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight season. She is second on the team in goals (52), assists (24) and points (76) and leads the squad in ground balls (33).

Top-seeded Maryland faces Duke Saturday in the quarterfinals of the 2013 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship at Field Hockey & Lacrosse Complex at noon.

First Team
Alex Aust, Maryland, Sr., A
Kitty Cullen, Florida, Sr., A
Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern, Sr., A
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse, Jr., A
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse, Fr., A
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina, Sr., M
Taylor Cummings, Maryland, Fr., M
Brittany Dashiell, Florida, Sr., M
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland, Sr., M
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern, Sr., M
Taylor Virden, Duke, Jr., D

Becca Block, Syracuse, Sr., D
Iliana Sanza, Maryland, Sr., D
Sloane Serpe, North Carolina, Jr., D
Barb Sullivan, Notre Dame, So., D
Mikey Meagher, Florida, Sr., GK

Second Team
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins, Jr., A
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University, Sr., A
Abbey Friend, North Carolina, Jr., A
Shannon Gilroy, Florida, So., A
Maggie McCormick, Penn State, So., A
Covie Stanwick, Boston College, So., A

 Erin McMunn, Princeton, So., A
Marlee Paton, Loyola, Jr., M
Lauren Kahn, Connecticut, Jr., M
Kelly Lechner, Penn State, So., M
Mikaela Rix, Boston College, So., M
Alexa Demski, Towson, Sr., D
Sam Farrell, Florida, Sr., D
Gabby Flibotte, Northwestern, Sr., D
Kate Henrich, Denver, Sr., D
Kelsey Duryea, Duke, Fr., GK

Third Team
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison, Sr., A
Casey Bocklet, Virginia, So., A
Nikki Boltja, Louisville, Jr., A
Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown, So., A
Jasmine DePompeo, Navy, Sr., A
Katie Ferris, Massachusetts, Jr., A
Taryn VanThof, Loyola, So., M
Courtney Bennett, Dartmouth, Sr., M
Demianne Cook, Stony Brook, Sr., M
Brittney Coppa, North Carolina, Jr., M
Katie Guy, Penn State, Sr., D
Ashley Hunter, Georgetown, Sr., D
Kate Ivory, Cornell, Sr., D
Kelsey McGovern, Massachusetts, Jr., D
Lily Kalata, Rutgers, Sr., GK
Bridget Bianco, Northwestern, So., GK