Schwarzmann Named Tewaaraton Finalist

May 10, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Maryland junior midfielder Katie Schwarzmann was named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award for the second consecutive season Thursday.

Schwarzmann, the 2012 ACC Offensive Player of the Year, will have the opportunity to become the third Terrapin to win the top award in college lacrosse, joining Jen Adams (2001) and Caitlyn McFadden (2010).

Schwarzmann leads the ACC and ranks third nationally with 63 goals. A member of the 2011-12 U.S. women's national team, the Sykesville, Md., product was named an All-ACC selection for the third straight season. She paced the Terps with a tournament-record 11 goals in their run to the ACC tournament title, earning championship MVP honors.

Five men and five women garnered invitations to Washington, D.C. for the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 31 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

The other female finalists are Florida midfielder Brittany Dashiell, North Carolina attacker Becky Lynch, Northwestern midfielder Taylor Thornton and Syracuse attacker Michelle Tumolo.

Third-seeded Maryland welcomes UMass at 2 p.m. Saturday in the first round of the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship.