Schwarzmann Named ACC Scholar-Athlete

June 27, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Katie Schwarzmann was named Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year Wednesday.

Schwarzmann, a junior business major from Sykesville, Md., adds the lofty award to an already stout resume which includes the 2012 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female college lacrosse player in the country. The six-time Dean's List student and team captain was named the IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year for the second consecutive season. Schwarzmann was also crowned the 2012 ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Championship Most Valuable Player after leading the Terps to their unprecedented fourth consecutive conference title. Schwarzmann ranked second and fifth, respectively, in the nation in goals (72) and points (94), and established career bests in goals, assists (22), points, and draw controls (52) in 2012.

Schwarzmann tallied the program's fourth consecutive top ACC scholar honor. Caitlyn McFadden (2009, 2010) and Laura Merrifield (2011) preceded Schwarzmann. Additionally, Kristy Black, Melissa Diepold and Bria Phillips garnered ACC All-Academic Honors.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.