Conaboy Named to Rimington Fall Watch List

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

NEW YORK, N.Y. – University of Maryland senior offensive lineman Sal Conaboy has been named to the 2014 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List as announced Tuesday by The Rimington Trophy Committee.

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The 15-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for research.

Conaboy joins Melvin Fowler (2001), Kyle Schmit (2003 and 2004) and Edwin Williams (2008) as Maryland players who have been named to the watch list.

Last season, Conaboy started all 13 games at center for the Terps and served as the offensive line’s representative on the team’s leadership council. An All-Academic ACC selection as a junior, Conaboy anchored a unit that helped the Terps’ rush for over 100 yards in each of their first four games including a 312-yard performance against Old Dominion.

The Clarks Summit, Pa., native also helped Maryland’s offense pass for 3,231 yards in 2013, which marked the first time a Terrapin team eclipsed the 3,000-yard plateau since 1994.

In addition, Conaboy received the Public Service Award at the team banquet at the end of the season. Conaboy is the president of Maryland’s chapter of Uplifting Athletes, which works to raise awareness and money for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the center who receives the most first-place votes from the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy Committee.

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb., on Saturday, Jan. 17, 2015.

For more information on the Rimington Trophy, visit

– Maryland –