Men's Lacrosse Downs Loyola

May 23, 1998

AP Sports Writer

PISCATAWAY, N.J. (AP) - Matt Hahn scored five goals and Scott Hochstadt had four as Maryland beat top-seeded Loyola, Md. 19-8 Saturday to advance to the NCAA Division I lacrosse championship game for the third time in four years.

Maryland, which has not won the national title since 1975, will meet either No. 2 seed Princeton (12-1) or No. 3 seed Syracuse (11-2) in Monday's title game at Rutgers Stadium.

The Terps lost the 1995 final to Syracuse 13-9 and were beaten 19-7 by two-time defending champion Princeton last year.

The fifth-seeded Terps (14-2) gave the Greyhounds a lesson Saturday, jumping to a 6-0 lead and never letting Loyola (13-2) back into the game.

Tim O'Shea had three goals and Mark Frye two for Loyola, which has long felt overshadowed by Maryland and Johns Hopkins in the lacrosse ranks in the state.

Bob Hanna scored two of his three goals in the opening minutes, and Maryland goalie Kevin Healy made three outstanding saves in the opening quarter to help the Terps take command.

Maryland will be appearing in its ninth championship game, but it has come away emptyhanded the last four times.

Loyola, which had given up only 10 or more goals in three games this season, had been looking forward to its first game against Maryland since 1989. However, this one was embarrassing, and it ended in the Greyhounds' 19th loss in 20 games against the Terps.

Besides failing to stop Maryland's big attack line of Hahn, Hochstadt and Andrew Whipple (2 goals, 5 assists), the Greyhounds could not solve Maryland's defense.

Most of Loyola's 43 shots came with a defender in the shooter's face. Many of Maryland's 43 shots were in-close attempts in open space.

Hochstadt, who has 46 goals this season, scored three in the opening half to stake Maryland to a 10-1 lead.

Hahn took over in the second half, scoring four times to give him 49 this season. The senior now has a school-record 149 in his career, and he has scored a point in 61 straight games, the longest streak in the country.

The victory was the 138th in the career of Maryland's Dick Edell, making him the all-time leader among ACC coaches, passing Jim Adams of Virginia (1978-92).