More Byrd Enhancements Honor Terps' Proud Past

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

By: Katherine O'Toole, Maryland Media Relations Assistant

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – At Saturday’s game against Virginia, Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium will feature various exterior designs throughout the stadium that represent Maryland’s ‘Proud Past’ and honor the iconic figures and moments in Maryland’s six-decade history in the ACC.

In addition to light pole banners that will be unveiled this weekend at the west end zone, photo murals at the north concourse will include tributes to:

  • Darryl Hill: Breaking the color barrier in college football, former Terp Darryl Hill was the first African American football player in the Atlantic Coast Conference. Hill and the university commemorated the 50th anniversary of his first game against N.C. State this past September.
  • The Greatest Comeback in College Football: Maryland and head coach Bobby Ross faced a 31-0 deficit at half time versus the Miami Hurricanes on November 10, 1984. After an impressive third quarter highlighted by the return of Maryland relief quarterback Frank Reich who had been injured in the third game of the year, the Terps entered the fourth quarter down only 34-21. Impressive offensive efforts led by Reich would earn Maryland a 42-40 win in what would be the greatest comeback in college football.
  • 11 consensus All-Americans: These iconic gentlemen will be honored for their immense impact on the Maryland football program. The honorees include: Bob Ward (1951), Dick Modzelewski (1952), Jack Scarbath (1953), Stan Jones (1953), Bob Pellegrini (1955), Gary Collins (1961), Randy White (1974), Joe Campbell (1976), Dale Castro (1979), J.D. Maarleveld (1985) and E.J. Henderson (2001, 2002).
  • 1953 National Championship Team: Under head coach Jim Tatum and quarterback Jack Scarbath, the Terps finished the regular season undefeated and earned a ticket to the Orange Bowl. The Associated Press and United Press International voted Maryland the national champion.
  • 2003-04 Gator Bowl Team: Under head coach Ralph Friedgen, Maryland routed West Virginia 41-7 in the 2004 Gator Bowl. The Terps earned a trip to the bowl after finishing the 2003-04 season 10-3 (6-2 ACC). Lamar Bryant was named to’s inaugural “All-Bowl” team.
  • 2002-03 Peach Bowl Team: Fueled by E.J. Henderson, the first two-time All-American in Maryland history, the Terps defeated Tennessee 30-3 in the Peach Bowl. Under coach Ralph Friedgen, Maryland finished ranked 13th that season and won 10 of its final 11 games.
  • Testudo Statue: Capital One Field is decorated by a statue of Testudo, the university’s official mascot that players rub as they enter the field. Students rub the nose of various Testudo statues around campus for good luck.
  • ACC Championship Teams: Maryland won its first ACC Championship in 1953. Since then, the university has won a total of nine, most recently in 2001, which led the Terps to the Orange Bowl. 
  • College Football Hall of Fame: Maryland proudly honors seven men who have been recognized to the college football hall of fame. These include: Bob Ward (1980), Jack Scarbath (1983), Jim Tatum (1984), Dick Modzelewski (1993), Bob Pellegrini (1996), Jerry Claiborne (1999) and Stan Jones (2000).