Three Terps Named To ACC 50th Anniversary Squad For Men's Golf

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

Aug. 7, 2002

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Men's Golf Team has been announced by Commissioner John Swofford. The 51-member team, including former Terps Deane Beman, Bill Calfee and Fred Funk, was voted on by the nine league institutions as decided by the league's 50th Anniversary Committee.

Clemson and Wake Forest led all league schools with 12 members each on the Golden Anniversary team while North Carolina and NC State were second with six honorees each. Duke had five players selected, followed by Georgia Tech with four and Maryland and Virginia with three apiece.

Biographical sketches on the three former Maryland stars, and the complete ACC 50th Anniversary Men's Golf Team:

Deane Beman, Maryland (1958-1961) Maryland All-American in 1960 ... Turned professional in 1967 ... First commissioner of PGA Tour (1974-94) ... Introduced "stadium golf"... As player, won U.S. Amateur twice and British Amateur once ... Inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2000 ... Currently playing on the Senior PGA Tour.

Bill Calfee, Maryland (1968-1971) An All-American in 1970 and 1971 ... Played professionally on the PGA Tour following his collegiate career ... Currently the PGA's Executive Vice President of Operations ... Head of the PGA Tour's competition committee.

Fred Funk, Maryland (1977-1980) Maryland golf coach from 1982 to 1988 ... Currently ranked ninth in scoring average on the PGA Tour, and ranked 43rd on the PGA Tour's 2001 money list ... Had four top 10 finishes on the 2001 Tour ... Has two top-10 finishes in major PGA tournaments ... T9th at the 2000 PGA Championship and T7th at the 1993 U.S. Open.

ACC 50th Anniversary Men's Golf Team
Billy Andrade       Wake Forest       1983-1987            Bristol, R.I.
Deane Beman         Maryland          1958-1961            Bethesda, Md.
Tee Burton          North Carolina    1988-1991            Shelby, N.C.
Jonathan Byrd       Clemson           1996-2000            Columbia, S.C.
Bill Calfee         Maryland          1968-1971            Virginia Beach, Va.
Lewis Chitengwa     Virginia          1995-1998            Brookline, Mass.
Stewart Cink        Georgia Tech      1992-1995            Florence, Ala.
Tim Clark           NC State          1996-1998            Umkomaas, South Africa
Simon Cooke         Virginia          1993-1996            Harare, Zimbabwe
Richard Coughlan    Clemson           1993-1997            Offally, Ireland
James Driscoll      Virginia          1997-2000            Richmond, Va.
David Duval         Georgia Tech      1990-1993            Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
Danny Ellis         Clemson           1989-1993            Haines City, Fla.
John Engler         Clemson           1997-2001            Augusta, Ga.
Frank Fuhrer        North Carolina    1978-1981            Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fred Funk           Maryland          1977-1980            College Park, Md.
Lucas Glover        Clemson           1997-2001            Greenville, S.C.
Nicky Goetze        Clemson           1989-1993            Hull, Ga.
Jay Haas            Wake Forest       1973-1976            Belleville, Ill.
Gary Hallberg       Wake Forest       1977-1980            Barrington, Ill.
Max Harris          North Carolina    1997-2000            Worthing, England
Vance Heafner       NC State          1973-1976            Cary, N.C.
Scott Hoch          Wake Forest       1974-1978            Raleigh, N.C.
Joe Inman           Wake Forest       1966-1969            Greensboro, N.C.
John Inman          North Carolina    1981-1984            Greensboro, N.C.
Kevin Johnson       Clemson           1985-1989            Pembroke, Mass.
Matt Kuchar         Georgia Tech      1997-2000            Lake Mary, Fla.
Jack Lewis          Wake Forest       1966-1969            Florence, S.C.
Davis Love, III     North Carolina    1983-1985            St. Simons Island, Ga.
Bill Mallon         Duke              1970-1973            Marlbrough, Mass.
Len Mattiace        Wake Forest       1986-1989            Ponte Vedra, Fla.
Nolan Mills         NC State          1980-1983            Charlotte, N.C.
Kelly Mitchum       NC State          1990-1993            Southern Pines, N.C.
Bryce Molder        Georgia Tech      1998-2001            Conway, Ark.
Mike Muehr          Duke              1990-1994            Bernardsville, N.J.
Joe Ogilvie         Duke              1993-1996            Lancaster, Ohio
Arnold Palmer       Wake Forest       1948-1950, 1953-1954 Latrobe, Pa.
Chris Patton        Clemson           1986-1990            Fountain Inn, S.C.
Carl Pettersson     NC State          1999-2000            Alex City, Ala.
Dillard Pruitt      Clemson           1980-1984            Greenville, S.C.
Clarence Rose       Clemson           1978-1980            Goldsboro, N.C.
Tom Scherrer        North Carolina    1990-1992            Skaneateles, N.Y.
Dick Siderowf       Duke              1956-1959            Westport, Conn.
Jay Sigel           Wake Forest       1964-1967            Berwyn, Pa.
Mark Slawter        NC State          1993-1996            Winston-Salem, N.C.
Curtis Strange      Wake Forest       1973-1975            Virginia Beach, Va.
Leonard Thompson    Wake Forest       1966-1969            Laurinburg, N.C.
D.J. Trahan         Clemson           1999-2001            Inman, S.C.
Lanny Wadkins       Wake Forest       1969-1972            Richmond, Va.
Charles Warren      Clemson           1994-1998            Columbia, S.C.
Jason Widener       Duke              1990-1993            Greensboro, N.C.