Terp Men's Golf Team Lifts Lid On 2002-03 Season Next Week

Sept. 3, 2002

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - University of Maryland's men's golf team, fresh off an NCAA Regional appearance last May, lifts the curtain on its 2002-03 campaign this coming Monday when it participates in the 15-team Cleveland Golf /Kiawah Island Invitational in South Carolina.

The 54-hole tourney, hosted by College of Charleston, will be played for the first time at Turtle Point Golf Course, a 7,064-yard, Jack Nicklaus-designed track located on Kiawah Island. The field will play 36 holes on Monday and 18 on Tuesday.

Last year, the Terps finished in fifth place with a 54-hole total of four-under par.

"This is a great field, one that features nine teams that advanced to the NCAA Regionals or the NCAA finals last spring," said Terp head coach Tom Hanna, a former PGA touring pro. "Historically we have played well at this tournament. This is a good test for us. We will be playing on a different course than normal - we used to play at Osprey Point - and evidently Turtle Point is more challenging. But it will be a first experience for all the teams so everyone will be on a level playing field."

Hanna, who is beginning his 12th season as the Terps' head coach, expects to field a lineup composed of one senior (John Moheyer), one junior (Tim Kane), one sophomore (Bobby MacWhinnie) and two freshmen (John Eades and Jeff Spradlin).

"This tournament is important in that it will provide me with a barometer as to our lineup," said Hanna. "We will be starting a pair of freshmen, and they both need to get their feet wet. Both John and Jeff had great amateur and junior careers, and we are throwing them into the lineup right away. The players who don't make the trip will be working to earn qualifying positions for the tournament two weeks later at James Madison University."

Moheyer, the team co-captain, headlines the Terps' five-man lineup for the opening tournament of the season. A year ago, Moheyer was one of the Terrapins' top performers, finishing second on the team in scoring average (73.91) across 13 tournaments, including a No. 1 rating among all District II performers during the fall campaign. He had seven sub-par rounds as a junior.

Kane, who just missed qualifying for the U.S. Amateur this summer, is expected to be one of the leaders of the 2002-03 squad. He ended his sophomore campaign on a high note, finishing as the Terps' low-scorer at the NCAA Central Regional in Little Rock, Ark.

Now a sophomore, MacWhinnie completed his rookie campaign with the team's No. 2 scoring average in the spring. MacWhinnie, who competed in all 13 tournaments last season, posted one of the best rounds ever by a Terp when he ripped off eight birdies on his way to a three-under 69 during the ACC Championships.

Eades and Spradlin are both newcomers to the Terrapin program. Eades, from Charlotte, N.C., was a two-time league player of the year who recorded fourth-place finishes at the state level as a junior and senior. Spradlin is a transfer from Wichita State, where he redshirted the 2001 campaign. Originally from Leawood, Kan., he won the 2001 Kansas Junior Amateur and was named the Kansas Junior Player of the Year.

The 2002-03 Terps will face an imposing field at the Cleveland Golf/Kiawah Island Invitational, one that includes Alabama, Baylor, BYU, College of Charleston, Florida State, Kent State, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi, NC State , South Carolina, USC-Aiken and Vanderbilt. Both NC State (sixth) and Tulsa (tied for ninth) finished in the top 10 at the NCAA Championships in Columbus, Ohio last year. Baylor also finished among the nation's top 20 at the national tournament last May.

Turtle Point has played host to several important championships, including the Carolina Amateur, the Carolinas PGA, the South Carolina Amateur and the 1990 PGA Cup Matches, the club professionals equivalent of the Ryder Cup. The course features a three-hole stretch directly along the Atlantic Ocean.

2002-03 Terrapin Men's Golf Roster
Devin Drobbin	  Fr.	Holmdel, N.J.
John Eades	  Fr.	Charlotte, N.C.
Scott Ehrlich	  Sr.	Blue Bell, Pa.
Vertti Iso-Ahola  Sr.	Upper Marlboro, Md.
Tim Kane	  Jr.	Simsbury, Conn.
Dan McDonald	  Sr.	Plandome, N.Y.
Bobby MacWhinnie  So.	Pittsburgh, Pa.
John Moheyer	  Sr.	Lima, Ohio
Brit Musser	  Sr.	North Potomac, Md.
Jeff Spradlin	  Fr.	Leawood, Kan.

Head Coach: Tom Hanna