Track Teams Set To Host Terrapin Invitational

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

April 3, 2000

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The Maryland track teams will host their second of consecutive home meets, the Terrapin Invitational, at the Kehoe Track Facility this weekend. Last year, the women's team swept the competition at both home meets, earning seven first-place finishes at the Terrapin Invitational. The men's team placed first at last year's Maryland Invitational and third at the Terrapin Invitational. The teams will hope to use the home meet to gear up for the ACC Championships, which will be held on April 21-22 in Durham, N.C.

Women's Team Wins Maryland Invitational

Junior Vanessa Jones (Olney, Md.) won the high jump with an NCAA provisional mark of 5-10 ˝ to lead the women's team to a first-place finish at the Maryland Invitational last Saturday. Senior Candyce DeLoatch (Pittsgrove, N.J.) finished first in the 400 (53.71) and second in the 200 (24.38) as the Terps used eight first-place finishes to defeat Navy, which finished second. Maryland finished with a score of 235.5 points. Next were Navy (187.17), Northeastern (60), Morgan State (59.33), and Delaware State (54). Other winners for Maryland were freshman Thema Napier (Columbia, Md.) in the 400 hurdles (59.43), freshman Tia Burley (Baltimore, Md.) in the 200 (24.28), junior Rebecca Mack (Wilkes-Barre, Pa.) in the 800 (2:17.11), freshman Lynn Harris (Newark, Del.) in the long jump (19-4 Ľ), sophomore Tracy Ojeniyi (Sewell, N.J.) in the shot put (46-7 Ľ), senior Cathy Porter (Millersville, Md.) in the hammer (156-4), and the 4x100 relay team (46.53).

Men's Team Takes Fourth At Maryland Invitational

On the men's side, senior John Carr (Washington, D.C.) won the 100 with a time of 10.67 to lead the Terps to a fourth-place finish at the Maryland Invitational. Rhode Island won the competition with a score of 177.5, followed by Northeastern (137), Millersville (98), Maryland (83), and Delaware State (74.5). Also faring well for the men was junior Cedrick Rogers (Fort Wayne, Ind.), who won the long jump with a mark of 24-3. In addition, sophomore Phillip Barrett (Upper Marlboro, Md.) placed second in the 110 hurdles with a time of 14.69. Senior Jason Joubert (Rockville, Md.) finished third in the 400 hurdles with a time of 53.21.

Women's Team Finishes 16th In National Indoor Power Rankings

The women's team ended the indoor season in 16th place in the National Dual Meet Power Rankings, which are compiled by Idaho State University. The Terps were ranked as high as No. 1 earlier in the season.

Goodman Wins ACC Coach Of The Year

Maryland head coach Bill Goodman was named the ACC Women's Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year following a vote by the nine ACC head coaches after the ACC Indoor Championships. Goodman received the honor, his first ACC Coach of the Year award, after leading the women to a third place finish at the ACC Indoor Championships on Feb. 19. The finish tied the highest in school history and was the best since 1988.

Maryland Schedule

M18	UNC Wilmington
	at Wilmington, N.C.
M23-	Alabama Relays
27	at Tuscaloosa, Ala.
A1	Maryland Invitational
	at College Park, Md.
A8	Terrapin Invitational
	at College Park, Md.
A21-	ACC Championships
22	at Durham, N.C.
A27-	Penn Relays
29	at Philadelphia, Pa.
M6	Texas A&M
	at College Station, Texas
M12-	Madison Last Chance
13	at Harrisonburg, Va.
M13	Mason/Adidas Invitational
	at Fairfax, Va.
M18-	ECAC/IC4A Championships
21	at Princeton, N.J.
M31-	NCAA Championships
J3	at Durham, N.C.

2000 Outdoor ECAC Qualfiers

Tia Burley (400, 400H)
Punnie Chittchang (LJ,)
Candyce DeLoatch (400)
Natalie Dye (PV)
Lynn Harris (LJ)
Vanessa Jones (HJ)
Thema Napier (100H)
Tracy Ojeniyi (SP)
4x100 relay, 4x400 relay

2000 Outdoor IC4A Qualfiers

Jason Joubert (400H)
Cedrick Rogers (LJ)