Track Teams Prepare For ACC Championships

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

April 10, 2000

Terps Gear Up For ACC Championships

Following an open date this weekend, the Maryland track teams will travel to Durham, N.C., to compete at the ACC Outdoor Championships on April 21-22.

Last year, the women's team placed fifth at the ACC Outdoor Championships. The men's team placed ninth.

The women will be looking to build on their ACC Indoor Championships finish. The team placed third, its highest finish in 12 years and tied for the best in school history. Head Coach Bill Goodman was named ACC Women's Indoor Track Coach of the Year following the meet.

Women's Team Wins Terrapin Invitational

Senior Stacey Minott (Greenburg, N.Y.) broke the school record in the 100 meters in finishing first with a time of 11.51 to lead the Maryland women's track team to victory at the Terrapin Invitational last Saturday.

Minott's time supercedes the previous record of 11.63, which she also held.

In addition, senior Candyce DeLoatch (Pittsgrove, N.J.) broke the school record in the 200 as she took first with a time of 23.95. The previous mark was 24.17.

Sophomore Thema Napier (Columbia, Md.) shattered the school record in the 100 hurdles as she placed first with a time of 13.75. The previous record, set by Tamela Penny in 1985, was 14.17. Napier also won the 400 hurdles with a time of 1:03.47.

Also faring well for the women was junior Vanessa Jones (Olney, Md.), who improved her provisional NCAA qualifying mark in the high jump by taking first with a leap of 5-11 Ľ. Freshman Rashida Twiggs (Blue Bell, Pa.) placed third in the 100 with a time of 12.01. Freshman Punnie Chittchang (Mount Airy, Md.) won the long jump with a mark of 19-5 ˝. She also won the triple jump with a mark of 38-9 ˝. Sophomore Tracy Ojeniyi (Sewell, N.J.) won the shot put with a distance of 47-1 ľ. Freshman Labelle Hillgrove (Passaic, N.J.) won the discus with a mark of 128-10. Senior Cathy Porter (Millersville, Md.) finished first in the hammer with a throw of 160-11. She also finished second in the discus with a throw of 123-2.

Men's Team Takes Second At Terrapin Invitational

On the men's side, senior John Carr (Washington, D.C.) won the 100 with a time of 10.48 and the 200 with a time of 21.48. Sophomore Phillip Barrett (Upper Marlboro, Md.) finished first in the 110 hurdles with a time of 14.55. Senior Jason Joubert (Rockville, Md.) won the 400 hurdles with a time of 53.41. Junior Cedrick Rogers (Fort Olney, Md.) won the long jump with a mark of 24-11. In addition, the 4x100 relay team placed first with a time of 42.80.

Women's Team Ranked 12th In National Indoor Power Rankings

The women's team is currently ranked 12th in the National Indoor Power Rankings, compiled by Idaho State University. The team closed the indoor season in 16th place. The men's team is currently in 37th place.

Goodman Wins ACC Coach Of The Year

Maryland head coach Bill Goodman was named the ACC Women's Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year following a vote by the nine ACC head coaches after the ACC Indoor Championships.

Goodman received the honor, his first ACC Coach of the Year award, after leading the women to a third place finish at the ACC Indoor Championships on Feb. 19. The finish, the team's best since 1988, tied the highest in school history.


M18	UNC Wilmington
	at Wilmington, N.C.
M23-	Alabama Relays
27	at Tuscaloosa, Ala.
A1	Maryland Invitational
	at College Park, Md.
A8	Terrapin Invitational
	at College Park, Md.
A21-	ACC Championships
22	at Durham, N.C.
A27-	Penn Relays
29	at Philadelphia, Pa.
M6	Texas A&M
	at College Station, Texas
M12-	Madison Last Chance
13	at Harrisonburg, Va.
M13	Mason/Adidas Invitational
	at Fairfax, Va.
M18-	ECAC/IC4A Championships
21	at Princeton, N.J.
M31-	NCAA Championships
J3	at Durham, N.C.

2000 Outdoor NCAA Qualifiers

Candyce DeLoatch (400) Vanessa Jones (HJ)

2000 Outdoor ECAC Qualifiers Tia Burley (400, 400H) Punnie Chittchang (LJ,) Candyce DeLoatch (200, 400) Natalie Dye (PV) Lynn Harris (LJ) Vanessa Jones (HJ) Stacey Minott (100) Thema Napier (100H) Tracy Ojeniyi (SP) Rashida Twiggs (100) 4x100 relay, 4x400 relay

2000 Outdoor IC4A Qualifiers

Phillip Barrett (110 H) John Carr (100) Jason Joubert (400H) Cedrick Rogers (LJ) 4x100 relay