Live Chat
Men's Cross Country Places 8th At ACC Championships
Courtesy: Maryland Athletics
Release: 11/02/2002

Nov. 2, 2002

ATLANTA, Ga. - This weekend, the Terps topped off an impressive season by taking eighth at the ACC Championships in Atlanta, Ga., breaking a four-year ninth place finish streak. This feat of improvement was accomplished despite the absence of two of the squad's top runners, who were unable to run due to medical reasons.

The NC State men's cross country team, ranked 21st nationally, won its second consecutive Atlantic Coast Conference title Saturday, with a score of 17 points. The victory marks the seventh time NC State has won the men's championship in eight years. The Wolfpack was followed by two top-ranking schools in the Southeast: Duke (6) earned second with 69 points and Virginia (3) rounded out the top three with 95 points.

NC State had five of the race's top six finishers, led by David Patterson, who covered the 8,000 meter course in 24:14.2. The fastest finishing Terp was sophomore Adam Ambrus (Shamong, N.J.), who took 31st place with a 25:47.4. This time was nearly two minutes faster than his finish at last season's ACC Championships. Junior Mike Prada (Fulton, Md.) came in next for Maryland, in 39th place with a 26:12.3, also posting a faster time than last year. The third Terp to cross the finish line was sophomore Florent Groberg (Potomac, Md.) ran to a 45th place finish.

2002 ACC Men's Cross Country Championship Results
1. NC State (17 points)
2. Duke (69)
3. Virginia (95)
4. Clemson (103)
5. Florida State (123)
6. Wake Forest (148)
7. North Carolina (187)
8. Maryland (219)
9. Georgia Tech (243)

2002 ACC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team 1. David Patterson, NC State, 24:14.2 2. Devin Swann, NC State, 24:29.7 3. Ricky Brookshire, NC State. 24:37.8 4. Jason Meany, Clemson, 24:39.0 5. David Christian, NC State, 24:41.2 6. Kurtis Marlowe, NC State, 24:41.2 7. Joep Tigchelaar, Florida State, 24:48.7 8. Michael Hatch, Duke, 24:51.3 9. Nick Schneider, Duke, 24:52.2 10. Chris Williams, Duke, 24:54.7

Freshman of the Year: Bryce Ruiz, NC State

For complete results, click here.

umterps Track & Field

More InfoLive Events ScheduleLog In
Official Marketplace of UM Terps
Marketplace Auctions
Marketplace - Auctions
Marketplace Store
Team Issued Gear
Marketplace Ticktes
Marketplace Photo Store
Terrapin Club - Marketplace

More Module