Track Teams Send Qualifiers To ECAC/IC4A Championships

Feb. 28, 2000

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The University of Maryland's track teams will be represented by 15 women at the ECAC Championships and five men at the IC4A Championships to be held in Boston, Mass. on March 3-4.

The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Championships are composed of women who have achieved qualifying marks throughout the year in their respective event(s). The Intercollegiate Association of Amatuer American Athletes (IC4A) Championships will feature men who have qualified in their respective event(s).

In addition to the individual qualifiers, both the men's and women's teams will be sending their respective 4x400 and distance medley relay teams.

After the ECAC's and IC4A's, NCAA qualifiers will take part in the NCAA Championships in Fayetteville, Ark.

Goodman Wins ACC Coach Of The Year

Maryland head coach Bill Goodman was named the ACC Women's Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year following a vote by the nine ACC head coaches after the ACC Indoor Championships.

Goodman received his first ACC Coach of the Year award after leading the women to a third place finish at the ACC Championships. The finish tied the highest in school history and was the best since 1988.

Women Take Third At ACC Championships

The women's team placed third at the ACC Championships last weekend, marking the highest ACC Indoor finish in 12 years for the team.

Several school records fell as the Terps moved up to third place in the final day of competition to tie the highest Maryland finish ever.

Senior Candyce DeLoatch (Pittsgrove, N.J.) broker her own school record in the 400 as she took second place with a time of 53.91. The time provisionally qualified her for NCAA competition. DeLoatch also anchored the Maryland 4x400 relay team which took first place with a time of 3:43.54.

Junior Vanessa Jones (Olney, Md.) took third place in the high jump with a leap of 5-10. Jones earned All-ACC honors and provisionally qualified for NCAA competition with the jump. It also marked a career-best for Jones, bettering her previous top jump of 5-9" set earlier this season.

In addition, Freshman Stacey Minott (Greenburg, N.Y.) bettered her own school record in the 60 in taking second with a time of 7.50. Senior Cathy Porter (Millersville, Md.) placed third in the weight throw with a toss of 53-9 3/4.

The top three finishers in each individual event and the winning relay team for each event earned All-ACC honors.

Men Place Ninth At ACC's

The men's team was led by junior Cedrick Rogers (Fort Wayne, Ind.), who placed fifth in the long jump with a leap of 23-8.

Also faring well for the Terps was sophomore Phillip Barrett (Upper Marlboro, Md.). Barrett placed sixth in the 60 hurdles with a time of 8.02. In addition, the 4x400 relay team placed fifth with a time of 3:16.64, a season best.

DeLoatch, Jones Qualify For NCAA's

Candyce DeLoatch's time of 53.91 in the 400, which set the new Maryland standard in that event, was substantially faster than the time that earned her a spot in the NCAA Indoor Championships last year. This year's time was also better than the time that earned DeLoatch All-America status at NCAA's a year ago.

Vanessa Jones' jump of 5-10 was a career best and was also a provisional qualifying standard for NCAA competition. Both DeLoatch and Jones earned All-ACC honors for the second year in a row.

2000 All-ACC Performers
Tia Burley(200)
Candyce DeLoatch (400)
Vanessa Jones (high jump)
Stacey Minott (60)
Cathy Porter (weight throw)
4x400 relay

2000 ECAC Qualifiers
Tia Burley (200, 400, 500)
Punnie Chittchang (LJ, TJ)
Candyce DeLoatch (200, 400, 500)
Jaime Dorshimer (PV)
Natalie Dye (PV)
Lynn Harris (LJ, 55)
Labelle Hillgrove (shot put)
Vanessa Jones (HJ)
Stacey Minott (55, 60)
Shawna Morgan (55, 60)
Thema Napier (55 hurdles)
Cathy Porter (weight)
Angie Rosamilia (shot put)
4x400 relay, DMR

2000 IC4A Qualifers
Phillip Barrett (55H, 60H)
Dontae Bugg (55H, 60H, 200)
John Carr (55, 60, 200)
Jason Joubert (400)
Cedrick Rogers (LJ)
4x400 relay, DMR