Track Teams To Compete At Regionals

May 16, 2001

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Select members of the Maryland men's and women's track teams will take part in regional competitions this Saturday in Princeton, N.J.

Thirteen members of the women's team have qualified for the Eastern Colleges Athletic Conference (ECAC) Championships, and five members of the men's team have qualified for the Intercollegiate Association of Amateur American Athletes (IC4A) Championships.

Sophomores Tia Burley (Baltimore, Md.) and Toni Jefferson (Baltimore, Md.) will compete in four events on Saturday to lead the women's team. Burley will take part in the 200 meters, the 400 meters, the 4x100 relay team, and the 4x400 relay team. Jefferson will compete in the 100, 200 4x100 relay, and 4x400 relay.

In addition, three athletes have qualified provisionally for the NCAA Championships in individual events, and the 4x400 relay team has also earned a provisional qualifying time. Sophomore Lynn Harris (Newark, Del.) has qualified in the long jump, senior Vanessa Jones (Olney, Md.) has qualified in the high jump, and junior Thema Napier (Columbia, Md.) qualified in the 400 hurdles. This weekend's meet will provide one more opportunity for those who have not qualified to do so.

Senior Cedrick Rogers (Fort Wayne, Ind.) and junior Dontae Bugg (Newport News, Va.) have each qualified in two events to lead the men's team. Rogers will compete in the long jump and the 4x100 relay, and Bugg will take part in the 110 hurdles and the 4x100 relay.

2001 ECAC Qualifiers

Tia Burley		200, 400
Punnie Chittchang	Long Jump
Natalie Dye		Pole Vault
Lynn Harris		Long Jump
Devenn Hamilton	        400
Heather Houston	        Long Jump
Toni Jefferson		100, 200
Vanessa Jones		5-10 ľ
Ruth Kura	        Discus, Hammer
Thema Napier		100 Hurdles, 400 Hurdles
Tracy Ojeniyi		Shot Put, Heptathlon
Amber Stanley		Heptathlon
4x100 Relay**
4x400 Relay*

2001 IC4A Qualifiers

Phillip Barrett		110 Hurdles
Dontae Bugg		110 Hurdles
Cedrick Rogers		Long Jump
4x100 Relay***

* -- Members: Toni Jefferson, Devenn Hamilton, Thema Napier, Tia Burley ** -- Members: Rashida Twiggs, Lynn Harris, Tia Burley, Toni Jefferson *** -- Members: Dontae Bugg, Harold Manning, Dave Benaderet, Cedrick Rogers