Live Chat
Seven Terrapins were honored on the NFHCA All-Mid Atlantic Region Teams Tuesday.
Seven Named to NFHCA All-Region Teams
Courtesy: Maryland Athletics
Release: 11/19/2013

COLLEGE PARK, Md. –  Seven members of the top-ranked Maryland field hockey team were named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association’s All-Mid Atlantic Region First and Second Teams released Tuesday.

Maxine Fluharty, Natalie Hunter, Ali McEvoy, Sarah Sprink and Jill Witmer made the First Team and Witmer was named NFHCA Mid Atlantic Region Player of the Year. She is one of five finalists for National Player of the Year. Anna Dessoye and Katie Gerzabek made the Second Team.

Witmer has made the All-Region teams in each of her four years at Maryland.This is the third All-Region honor for Fluharty, McEvoy and Gerzabek and the second for Sprink. Dessoye and Hunter are first-time honorees.

The top-seeded Terrapins advanced to their sixth straight Final Four Sunday with a 3-2 win over No. 8 Princeton at the Field Hockey & Lacrosse Complex.

Witmer scored twice, once to tie and once for the lead, to send Maryland (22-1) to its 17th overall Final Four and 16th under head coach Missy Meharg. The Tigers (14-5) led twice in the first half, until Witmer and the Terrapins took control just before the break.

The Terrapins will play No. 5 Duke (16-6) Friday at 2 p.m. in Norfolk, Va. in the NCAA Semifinals. The game will be streamed live online for free on The winner of Friday’s match will face either No. 3 North Carolina or No. 4 Connecticut in Sunday’s 4 p.m. NCAA Championship game.






umterps Student Welfare & Career Development

More InfoLive Events ScheduleLog In
Official Marketplace of UM Terps
Marketplace Auctions
Marketplace - Auctions
Marketplace Store
Team Issued Gear
Marketplace Ticktes
Marketplace Photo Store
Terrapin Club - Marketplace

More Module