Brill Earns Rookie of the Year Honors

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

March 25, 2002

Freshman Leah Brill (Lancaster, Pa.) was announced as the 2002 East Atlantic Gymnastics League Rookie of the Year on Friday, March 22 at the annual EAGL awards banquet. Since the conference's inception, Brill is the third Terrapin to earn the honor.

Senior All-American Gillian Cote (Fredericksburg, Va.) won the EAGL Scholar Athlete award for the second consecutive year.

Maryland garnered 10 all-conference selections, eight of those being first team selections. Cote and senior Lisa Mealey (Bensalem, Pa.) were both unanimous first team selections for the all-around. This marks Cote's third first team all-around honor.

Cote also earned first team honors for the uneven bars and the balance beam. Mealey was selected to all-EAGL first team for the vault and the uneven bars, and to second team for the floor exercise.

Other first team selections included sophomore Sarah Hoenig (Seaford, N.Y.) for the balance beam and senior Alyssa Mealey (Bensalem, Pa.) for the floor exercise. Mealey also earned second team honors for the uneven bars.