Terps Tie Cavs, Fall in Championship on Penalty Kicks

Box Score

CARY, N.C. - Maryland and Virginia played to a 1-1 tie after 110 minutes, but the Cavaliers were crowned ACC champions after defeating the Terrapins 7-6 in penalty kicks.

Maryland (17-2-1) controlled most of the action in the first half, outshooting Virginia (9-9-2) by a decisive 8-1 margin. The Terps best chance came in the 24th minute when Jason Garey had a breakaway opportunity but failed to convert the chance.

Maryland broke a scoreless tie in the 46th minute when Chris Lancos sent a ball into the box for Garey, but the ball made contact with Will Hall's hand, giving A.J. Herrera a penalty kick. Herrera converted the kick into the left side of the net giving Maryland a 1-0 lead. Down a score, Virginia started to send more players onto its attack. The pressure paid off and the Cavs got back into the game when Maryland failed to clear the ball on a corner kick. Virginia's John Hartman one-timed the ball through traffic from 18 yards out and skipped the ball past Maryland's Noah Palmer.

With Virginia gaining momentum, the Terps suffered another setback when Kenney Bertz was handed his second yellow card of the match and was ejected. Despite being down a man for the remainder of the match, Maryland was still able to mount a few offensive runs. Freshman keeper Ryan Burke, the ACC Tournament MVP, made several stops--including a point-blank save on Maryland's Abe Thompson in the last minute of the first overtime--to keep the score knotted at 1-1.

After two scoreless overtime periods, the match moved into a five-round penalty kick shootout. Trailing 3-2 and needing a conversion to extend the match, Maryland's Sumed Ibrahim got his shot past Burke to send the match into a sudden-death shootout. After four conversions by Virginia and three for Maryland, Burke was able to stop Scott Buete's shot into the lower left corner to end the match and give the Cavs the win, 7-6 in PK's (in nine rounds).

Maryland's Seth Stammler, Sumed Ibrahim, Buete, Garey and Clarence Goodson were named to the All-Tournament Team.

The win gives Virginia an automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament. The Terps, ranked second in the nation, will find out what their NCAA bracket looks like tomorrow afternoon when the NCAA Tournament field is announced at 4:30 p.m. on ESPNews.

                       1        2	OT	2OT	F
Virginia (9-9-2)       0        0       0       0       1*
Maryland (17-2-1)      0       1       0        0       1
*Virginia wins in penalty kicks, 7-6
Scoring: MD- Herrera (penalty kick) 46:42; UVa - Hartman 60:43
Shots: MD- 8+4+1+1=14, UVa- 1+6+1+3=11
Corners: MD- 3+3+0+1=7, UVa- 1+2+1+1=5
Saves: MD-0+1+1+0=2, UVa- 3+1+1+0=5
Fouls: MD- 5+10+0+0=15, UVa- 7+3+6+1=17
Goalkeeping: MD-Palmer (1 GA, 2 SV, 110:00), UVa- Burke (1 GA, 5 SV, 110:00)

Jeremiah White, Wake Forest
Jorge Gonzalez, NC State
Blake Camp, Duke
Clarence Goodson, Maryland
Sumed Ibrahim, Maryland
Matt Oliver, Virginia
Jason Garey, Maryland
Seth Stammler, Maryland
Scott Buete, Maryland
John Hartman, Virginia
Ryan Burke, Virginia (MVP)